We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Has Happened” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Niagara Golf Club

Royal Niagara Golf Club
1 Niagara-on-the-Green Blvd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
905-685-9501
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What Has Happened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a top notch golf club years past and I always enjoyed playing it but this year it has not been up to par. Seems year to year it is slowly sliding off the radar of places to play in Niagara.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo,ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just a shame!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Have been going here yearly since opening. Conditions have regressed. layout is beautiful but seems as if they're cutting back on grooming. Don't seem to be getting a lot of play, maybe that's why the upkeep is failing. I still enjoy playing the course and enjoy the 3 separate courses but fairways etc. need some looking into.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Expected More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We played Royal Niagara a few weeks ago and I must say I was pretty disappointed. My expectations were of the other Kaneff courses I've played. Century Pines, Royal Ontario and Carlisle. We teed off mid afternoon and the greens seemed as though they were not cut in the morning. Overall there just seemed to be a lack of maintenance. As someone said below there was water in most of the traps. I was really geared up to play Royal Niagara but if fell way short of what I expected. I dont think its worth the greens fees they ask and I will not be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice place with a good view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food was pretty good and the view of the lake is gorgeous! Servers are always nice and eager to please.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A second time I won't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This course did not have a single sand trap that did not have standing water. It also is an unfair course for a number of reasons. The second hole on Escarpment has grass bunkers, two side by each about 10 yards from the green and totally not visible as they are at bottom of hill. Why put grass bunkers in front of the green up so close to it and at bottom of hill? There is a hole on Canal nine where the cart path is parallel to the fairway and the fairway is only about 25 feet wide! The cart path takes up about 5ft of this narrow fairway ...oh and it is downhill. Either side of this narrow fairway are huge canopies of trees for a blind shot to the green uphill! I like challenging courses but this is not challenging but just plain unfair.

The worst...the manager defended their sand bunkers by saying the sand has clay base and the rain doesn't help. Did he think there wouldn't be rain and did he understnd that the sand bunkers are designed to have sand not mud?

I suggest to avoid this unfair and unnecessarily difficult course made worse by standing water in the sand...in all bunkers

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Niagara Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal Niagara Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Niagara Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.