We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
224 Regent Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-3411
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food was fantastic, service superb and a great selection of spirits, including one from 1812. A must see.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert D;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the history of The Olde Angel Inn and stating that everything about your visit was superb!, We hope to see you again some time.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    313
    83
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kawasaki, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Pub even without the Ghost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved the band, cold beer, burgers and the characters that served our dinner. The ghost stories are fun but we couldn't report any luck meeting up with the poor Lieutenant Swazey who came to an early end in the cellar in the initial stages of the War of 1812. (The cellar is now the down stairs washroom.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Gordon C;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you had a great time in our Pub. Captain Swayze does not turn up all the time, but usually in the late hours of the night you might hear some bumps, creeks and footsteps! You'll have to stay here one evening to see if you have any experiences, So it would be a great trip to return to Canada to find out!
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up State New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Great Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Whenever we are in Niagara-on-the-Lake we make it a point to stop at this very authentic style English Pub with its great beers on tap and the atmosphere you would expect in a pub. The menu is terrific and most affordable especially in this area. We enjoyed their special the evening we dropped in. It was a prime rib dinner with yorkshire pudding and delicious mashed potatoes and gravy. We loved the Guiness gravy so much we asked for more on the side and they were very accommodating and kept the gravy boat filled. All in all in was a great relaxing evening. We were never rushed and our waitress was terrific. This is why we always return to this pub.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear SkipUpStateNewYork;
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your return visit to The Olde Angel Inn. That's what keeps everyone coming back, our authentic English Pub style, affordable prices and our great service, not to mention our fabulous Prime Rib Roast dinners! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip back to NOTL!
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fun place for drinks and entertainment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

If you're eating pub food, it's a good place to eat. The bar is hopping, especially on the nights they have bands, and it's a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Joannb1989;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you had a nice time here at The Angel. I think I had the pleasure of giving you and your friend a tour of our rooms upstairs; it was nice meeting you both. I hope you will stay with us next time you visit NOTL as I know you will be guaranteed some fun staying here at The Olde Angel Inn.
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My friend and I didn't arrive for dinner until around 8:30pm. We were taken to the back area (which was fine because the first section and bar were quite full and it was pretty loud) and had a nice quiet table. The waiter was very attentive and friendly. We ordered hors d'oeuvres, which came out pretty quickly, and then our meal followed soon after. Overall, a great atmosphere and very nice staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Luise Y;
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's nice to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your late night dinner at The Angel and had a chance to sit in our cozy, quiet "Snug" area. Thank you also for commenting on your good service and our staff. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to NOTL!
Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.