We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
224 Regent Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-3411
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is one of our favorite spots in Niagara-on-the-Lake! The pub food is hearty and delicious, and the beer selection is great with many fresh, local offerings. Best of all, the staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, as do the locals, many of whom hang out at the historic Olde Angel Inn. We'll be back each time we visit this lovely little town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    283
    73
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, attentive staff and centrally located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We looked up this pub having seen flyers around town advertising a Halloween event. It's in a great location, just off the high street on Regent Street. Lots of character - it was originally built in 1789, burnt down in the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815. Legend has it that the ghost of Captain Swaize still haunts the pub and the guest rooms upstairs. The pub menu offers a selection of food, both pub favourites as well as other choices such as hot wings etc. The waiting staff and bar tenders all very pleasant and cheerful, making conversation and sharing information about their town. The pub has a lot of character with wooden beams and a lovely fireplace. They have a good selection of beers and ales. Well worth a visit while you're in town!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hot Spot while in NOL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our first dinner choice when visiting here. Came to the area to celebrate our friends 40th anniversary...this was a good start. I suggest the Ploughman's lunch (pork pie w/ assorted veggies and fruit), or the steak and Guinness pie. That , and some live music made for a good night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Olde Angel Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had dinner here on our first night and, thanks to Steph and the hospitality she showed us, we made sure to go back every day we were there. The food was great, the company was better. I felt like I was walking into a pub where everyone was friends with everyone else who was there. We were greeted like old friends when we walked in.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford - England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice British style pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went there for lunch on Canadian Thanksgiving Day. Although Niagara-on-the-Lake was heaving with day trippers, they got us a table for two straight away. There was a good range of US & British/Irish/Continental beers, though unfortunately I was driving and could not sample them. The food was good, and my burger was excellently done as asked, with enough fries to feed a whole army. Walking back through bar area on the way out was just like being back in my local pub at home! A favourite with many a local and US visitor, according to my friend ... including his.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.