We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 150+ year old bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Angel Inn

The Olde Angel Inn
224 Regent Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-3411
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great 150+ year old bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

had beers and whiskey until close! just planned on having "1" drink, but sayed all night!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    315
    83
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everyone, every place in Niagara on the Lake is exceptionally nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I had a horrible drive to NOTL from St. Thomas. It was raining very hard the the highways were terrible. We arrived in NOTL and I suggested we go to the Olde Angel Inn for lunch. We were cold and unnerved and much to our delight the special of the day was (to die for) crab and shrimp chowder. Well we chowed that down quickly and followed up with a cold mug of red Angel Beer. I am not much of a beer drinker but it sure tasted great and we were relaxed at last. (we went back the next day for lunch and were not disappointed) Then we proceeded to the Queen's Landing and checked in for a wonderful weekend. Best winter holiday ever!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I love The Olde Angel Inn. It has a wonderful, old pub atmosphere and the service is great. I had the fish and chips. Awesome.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch is divine-new year's is a party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Had a lovely lunch here last fall-big portions, warm atmosphere and great drink. Also spent new year's here and WOW what a party!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Historic Pub and a great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

It's a local pub that has great character. The food is fine and the service friendly. It's standard pub fare and is there anything wrong with that?!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.