We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Club Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shaw Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Picton Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Room Rate Online
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent overnight getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the King Annex Room with whirlpool and thoroughly enjoyed it. Upon arrival we were greeted by Cooper, the concierge, who was extremely friendly and helpful, and who offered us a glass of champagne (nice touch and very welcome after nearly 3-hour drive from downtown Toronto!). Our room was very comfortable and clean (this coming from someone who is extremely picky!). There was also a beautiful card and bottle of wine in our room, courtesy of Shaw (it was our 20th wedding anniversary). Again, this was really a nice touch and what, in my opinion, makes the Shaw hotel stand out. All staff were friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We will definitely be back! Thanks for an amazing night!

Room Tip: King Annex with whirlpool and fireplace was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them on to the rest of the team, especially Cooper! Thank you for choosing Shaw Club Hotel & Spa to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary! I’m happy to hear we exceeded your expectations in every way. I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    74
    22
    10
    16
See reviews for
28
385
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longport, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Welcoming staff. Great location at end of main street. Easy walking access to Shaw Festival theaters. Bar and very good restaurant on site.Parking is included and available at rear of building. Highly recommend. We would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we truly appreciate it! Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel and Spa soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although there are many great places to stay while visiting NOTL we were glad we chose Shaw Club for our 20th anniversary celebration. The hotel has a boutique feel and a hip vibe. Our room was small but very nicely appointed. Everything was updated and modern. The Shaw Club has a very convenient location and a top notch restaurant. The most important feature was the amazing staff. Be sure to ask to speak to the Concierge Cooper Smith. He is enthusiastic about what he does and knows the area well. His recommendations were perfect! Lisa who checked us in on arrival, ordered us tickets to a show and had them delivered to our room. She also printed our boarding passes so we would not be late for dinner on our last night! They were in our room when we returned that evening. They also have a complementary shuttle service that runs until 11PM. Our dinner at Peller Estates ran late until 11:30 but the driver waited for us anyway. We were prepared to call a cab! Service like this is not common today but at the Shaw they know how to make guests feel special. It was hard to leave the Shaw Club. This place hits all the high marks for selective travelers. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your 20th anniversary celebration! It was a pleasure meeting both of you during your stay with us, I am always happy to assist in any way possible! I’m thrilled we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries in the future here at Shaw Club!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was very nice. Great location. Bed was a bit uncomfortable (sore back at the end of the weekend). Fireplace was a great feature. Extremely helpful staff. Zee's Grill (hotel restaurant) was fantastic. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Thanksgiving weekend. The room was cozy, well appointed, and loved the balcony. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. We dined at Zee's both mornings for breakfast, which was delicious. We will definitely be back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us, we truly appreciate it! I’m thrilled we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We brought the voucher from Travelzoo and we are very glad we did! We were very pleased with our stay. The staff (ranging from reception, housekeeping and at the restaurent) was very friendly and helpful. The suite was extremely clean. The food at Zee Grill was excellent ... both dinner and breadfast. If you need any assistance whatsoever, ask for Cooper the Concierge. We will definitely stay at Shaw Club again!

Room Tip: There are three different styles of the king size suites and we picked the room with the "extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I’m thrilled we exceeded your expectations! Cooper has been a wonderful addition to our team this year, I’m glad he was able to share his knowledge of the area with you. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel was exceptional in every way. The room was spacious, quiet, comfortable and beautiful.The staff was professional, friendly and helpful. They provided us with information on the wait time for crossing back into the US on each of the three bridges. And the breakfast is unbelievable.
We we so glad we had chosen to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the staff. It was our pleasure to ensure every aspect of your stay was wonderful! I look forward to saying hello during your next visit to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.