We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for mini get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shaw Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Shaw Club Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Picton Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for mini get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Shaw Club Hotel is not an ultra modern updated looking hotel, but a very clean, comfortable classic one that just suited appropriately in "Niagara-on-the-lake". It is an ideal for a mini get away - conveniently right across Shaw Theatre. Zees restaurant provides great value, excellent diner that won't break your wallet ( Old folks should be aware the portions are just slightly a little big for the fine dinning. )
There are always better hotels, but I can't neat pick this hotel for what they charge. So, it is a five on my list!
Rosa from Toronto

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    108
    24
    10
    16
See reviews for
36
466
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Shaw Club is a very upscale hotel in Niagara On the Lake, and friendly to kids too! We have had 2 family stays there, where we, our 2 adult sons with wives and 3 little boys (who love the elevator) have enjoyed the location, the indoor and outdoor dining at Zee's and the easy access to the Shaw theaters, and to parks, shops and just plain walking in the adorable town. The staff was very helpful with all our comings and goings, even when we had extra quests for breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a king-size bed, plus a pull-out bed. Some of the rooms have a little balcony and some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the whole family for the second time! We truly appreciate your loyalty to Shaw Club when visiting beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

From the initial call to the hotel to book the rooms, to our stay brief stay - the experience was pleasant and fairly smooth. The hotel was easy to find, with easy access to all the area has to offer. We were visiting with friends and had a few rooms in the annex. The rooms were all clean and well kept, just wish the stairwell leading to the rooms were well maintained too, it needed much TLC. The team at the fromt were exceptional, especially Cooper, with Christina as a capable alternate and apparently a rising star. At Zees, when we went for dinner they graciously allowed us to advance our seating but I think the wait staff were a bit frazzled that we 'appeared' at the table before they had a chance to finish setting our table. Once they got over the initial hiccup, it was smooth sailing with great service. The food at Zees did not disappoint, with a beautiful presentation to tantalize the taste buds. Overall, it was a memorable and enjoyable visit to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am elated to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Zee’s is an absolute must when visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Gwillimbury, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

To begin, the Shaw Club helped us plan our visit over the phone. Secondly, upon arrival, parking was free and easy to find. We were promptly greeted and instantly felt welcomed. Sharla was on-hand to help us find tickets to the Shaw Theater. We ended up watching "Our Betters" and it was fantastic - highly recommended. We also decided to try and catch a Ghost Tour at Fort George. To our amazement, Lisa, the Guest Services Manager offered us a shuttle drive to the site! She was so enthusiastic and friendly it was truly an experience. We felt very spoiled. She has since followed up with me via email to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.
The only mildly negative comments I have are that the rooms were smaller than expected, pillows a little too soft and bed was very firm. However, I consider these things personal and subjective opinions that vary from person to person. And I am sure if I bothered to let them know ahead of time, they would have tried their best to accommodate us! They also planned a wine tour for us and when our shuttle arrived, they called our room to let us know that our ride was ready. Great service! Plus, as you enter and leave the hotel they ALWAYS say Hello or Goodbye! I have never felt so comfortable at a hotel before...we will be going back!

Room Tip: Balcony room on the first floor was fantastic, convenient and made it easier for us to access our ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Caitlin,
It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay with us! I’m thrilled the service you experienced here at Shaw Club was above and beyond your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights in the Shaw Club annex and the room was large, well appointed and with a fridge, coffee maker and free WiFi. The staff were friendly, helpful and always pleasant. Parking is free and easy. The annex has stairs to the second floor so no good for those who cannot easily climb stairs but then a room in the main part would work. BUT once again a double room for two with a SINGLE chair - yes only one chair, no desk chair, no stool! So one must sit on the bed or floor. This is my continual complaint. Why must hotels have rooms for two with only a place for one to sit!!! The room is fine otherwise with a nice bathroom, great shower (modern with the shower head and overhead shower as well) and a large whirlpool tub in the room as well. Extra large king size bed with great mattress and two sets of pillows for each - large one and a smaller one. There was a flat screen TV which we didn't use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Superb location, a boutique hotel with all of the amenities of a large property. Excellent restaurant, fairly priced, gym, small spa, and an extremely comfortable lounge with a computer, printer and your choice of complimentary coffee, tea or hot chocolate with fresh milk 24/7. Rooms are very comfortable, wonderfully modern bathrooms, electric fireplace, complimentary car service in-town and to neighborhood wineries. However, it is the highly professional, warm, kmowledgeable employees, especially Lisa and Cooper, who made our one week stay carefree and memorable.
Barbara
Miami, FL

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 110. There are just two floors, ten rooms on each, with an elevator and six rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Barbara,
It was a pleasure meeting, and getting to know you during your stay with us! I’m thrilled you were able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any future visits to beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shaw Club soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa McDonald
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCormick, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Shaw Club Hotel was the perfect place to stay while we visited Niagara Falls and toured the wine country. We stayed for three nights and found the staff personable and ready to make your stay special. The room in the thirty-room hotel was a very pleasant surprise in an older hotel. The bathroom was modern and spacious and the room was downright charming. Location was perfect, just a step away from the restaurants and shops on historic Queen Street. With Zees on the porch, you felt like you were in a Bed and Breakfast. Our only disappointment was we did not have time to use the spa or golf.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaw Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel & Spa

Address: 92 Picton Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.