We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Arrival - OnSite Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Play Urban Cafe

Play Urban Cafe
253 Taylor Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L2J 2V8 , Canada
905.688.2550 x5777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Play Urban Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Glendale Avenue
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Late Arrival - OnSite Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We got to the White Oaks Resort later in the evening so we decided to try their casual Play Urban Cafe for dinner. They had live music which was very nice - not too loud and TV's with the Olympics playing. Our waiter was very nice and we received our waters and cocktails immediately. Once we ordered there was a fairly long wait, which the waiter came over and apologized for twice.
Our appetizer, Feta Bruschetta was huge! Tasted wonderful except that the topping was more tomato than feta. My mom's Rueben sandwich was great, not chewy and I had a fresh, crisp Caesar salad.
Very nice food for moderate price, much easier to "swallow" than the prices at Liv right across the hall!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for lunch, but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good place to grab a bite to eat, but service was rather slow. We sat at table for two, but they were busy with large tables. Food is good, I think good value for the money

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Even the room service of Play is good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Offers a little something for everyone ....appetizers included the typical fare , but we ordered the Naan with 3 dips and ate every last bite .
Daughter loved their pizza and I had a nice salad with blue cheese , walnuts , cherry tomatoes ,.
Service is prompt , friendly and professional.
Atmosphere is laid back and casual but in an upscale manner . Prices are surprisingly reasonable for a hotel .
Play is located inside the White Oaks Spa and Resort Hotel .
Would go back for sure .

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

great nachos! Solid price for an outfit in notl. Like the fact that it overlooks the indoor tennis courts, so if youre not into sports on the tv, perhaps u can check out other players on the court

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, urban menu, well priced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lots of selection, well made and quite tasty! Suprisingly good consdering Ive got a picky palette and consider most restaurants pretty lame.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Play Urban Cafe also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Play Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Play Urban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.