We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, limited selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravine Winery Restaurant

Ravine Winery Restaurant
York Rd & Four Mile Creek Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
9052628463
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At Ravine we are blessed with a culinary program that has a lot more to offer then just talented cooks in the kitchen.We are among the few self standing restaurants that bake our own bread, raise our own pigs, grow our own certified organic vegetables while pairing our meals with the guidance and discriminating palate of a wine maker and in house sommelier.We are extremely proud of our service team and confident in the level of hospitality that will be shown to your table whenever you choose to dine with us at Ravine.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, limited selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Niagara on the Lake is one of my favorite destinations and I will generally visit monthly, checking out the wineries and restaurants. During my last visit my wife and I had lunch at the Ravine Winery Restaurant. We were joined by two friends. I had already tried the wine and was impressed with its quality. We were immediately welcomed by the friendly host and seated at a table with a beautiful view of the winery, even at this early time in the spring, with winter refusing to let go. Our server was excellent and constantly smiling. The food did not disappoint. I had a burger while my wife had the pasta dish. Our friends also had the burger entre, while one had the clam dish. We were very satisfied. The portions were generous. And the wine pairings were perfect. The only change we would recommend is that they add a larger selection of different entres, especially for the non red meat eaters. Overall our lunch was quite enjoyable and I will certainly go back. If you are in the Niagara on the Lake area and want a better than average place for lunch, you can't go wrong with the Ravine Winery Restaurant. Not as big, or fancy as some of the other places, but the food and service is definitely worthwhile.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    301
    86
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food by the vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a splendid meal here on a Thursday night, when they offered free corkage if you bought one of their wines from the store. We took them up on their four courses for $44 and wound up taking home both desserts and part of one main. Quantities were not an issue, to put it mildly. The mushroom soup was spectacular and the chicken liver parfait was so good that this merely-moderate fan of pâtés might just order three helpings on the next visit. They should sell it in the shop. The restaurant overlooks the vineyard, which will look much better come summer. Cheryl gave us excellent advice on the menu and attentive service. Oh, and the desserts were just fine the next day, when we had room for them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Location, Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped by Ravine twice this weekend - on Good Friday for the Fish and Chips dinner and Sunday for Easter Brunch. On Friday my daughter didn't understand why we would drive an hour from Toronto to have dinner in St. David's - but on the way back she confirmed that Ravine is worth the trip.
First, the food is first class - every time we visit. High quality ingredients, often locally sourced or prepared on the premises. Preparation is perfect, the combination of tastes are delicious. Although for brunch, we did observe that the olives somewhat overpowered the very subtle flavours of the salmon and the spicy and salty pastrami, although delicious, dulled the senses to the flavours of the duck egg and the hollandaise sauce. Neither observation detracted from our enjoyment. Desserts are delicious - both the profiteroles for dinner (delightfully crispy with a chocolate mousse filling surrounding a dark chocolate centre and the mocha semifreddo with a doughnut (pictured). A few months ago, Chef Proprietor Paul Harber gave us a tour of the kitchen/bakery downstairs - and we were impressed by the facility. Also by the fact that they're now preparing their own charcuterie. It's obvious that they care deeply about details.
The Ravine wines are very reasonably priced, and there is also a selection of other Niagara region wines available. Wine pairings are reasonably priced and our server was accommodating when we indicated our preference for some
Second, the service is warm, friendly, helpful and not pushy or hurried in the least - if you want to linger over a meal with friends, they are entirely accommodating. Over the past year we've become regular customers and have joined the wine club - so we're treated like family. But you don't have to be a regular - as we've been impressed by the welcome we've received from our first visit.
Finally, it's a pretty spot. The glass room overlooking the vineyards is spectacular at sunset, the bar area, which also has a few tables maintains the rustic nature of the building and the location.
I would recommend the wine club, as membership confers some interesting perks - like a glass of wine for each member of our party.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2 Days in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My Finance and I were staying in a hotel on the falls when we decided to take a drive up to Niagara on the Lake, and we were glad we did. Of the 10 Wineries we visited Ravine was a cut
above the rest. On Saturday we enjoyed a wine tasting followed by a freshly made doughnut.
While touring around the property we stepped into the restaurant and upon arrival were quickly
invited to join them for Easter Sunday brunch. After a quick look at the menu how could we say
no? The food and the drinks on Sunday were terrific. Being as they make many items in house
they were fresh and full of flavor. We greatly enjoyed our trip to Niagara on the Lake and especially Ravine Winery. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“all round wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went with friends for the Good Friday fish and chip supper and we liked it so much we went back for Easter Sunday brunch. The service is very friendly yet professional and the food could not have been better. We did the 3 oz wine pairing which was a good way to try some different wines and we found the amount was quite enough. My friends are Ravine members so we also received a complimentary glass of wine with our meal. The room is spacious and in the evening there was a musician which added to the ambiance. Definitely worth the drive from Toronto!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravine Winery Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Ravine Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravine Winery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.