We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy Revisited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop

Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop
37 Queen St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 289-868-8852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, French, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: European styled gelateria, creperie, pastry shop, pizzeria and panini sandwiches. Also offered are espresso, cappuccino, latte, coffee and cold drinks.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Italy Revisited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I see that we are by no means the first to mention this, but lunch at Nina's really did remind us both of the fantastic lunch spots we visited in Italy. The sandwiches are fresh with a good, albeit limited, selection, and the various flavours/colours of gelato very tempting. The friendliness and service from the staff was also similar. Although we often go to the more expensive restaurants in NOTL for lunch, we are definitely looking forward to returning to Nina's on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    46
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Trust the reviews on this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Picked the place based on fellow reviewers. What I didn't know about the place, that it is in the middle of a gorgeous town, so make sure you leave time to walk the streets here. We ordered 2 different sandwiches and a personal pizza, made fresh. I am a Brooklyn girl, so trust me when I say the pizza was delicious! Everything was very fresh. Yes, they only have 2 tables and a few counter stools. Beautiful looking desserts. My husband and daughter stopped back again before we left the town to have the gelato, which they thoroughly enjoyed. I do not like gelato, so I skipped it. I did remark that I thought it a little on the expensive side, which appeared to be everything in the town. A small was 3.99. A large was 7.99. Add about another buck if you wanted it on a waffle cone. But I guess if you have it instead of a lunch, it's still costing you almost $10 a person. Whatever you have here, enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A reminder of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful flavours. They let you taste the gelatos. They make their own food and not just shipped from a big company.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSISSAUGA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A NICE SURPRISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went after dinner for a gelato which I had never had before. Prior to going to this place I thought gelato was like icy sherbert but this was a nice surprise. Smooth, creamy and plenty of flavours to choose from. I tried the Tiramasu and my husband had the Crème Brule. They also have some fantastic looking desserts as well as huge sandwiches and sweet and savory crepes and pizzas. Not cheap but very clean and inviting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am not a dessert person, but could not resist the gelato!! The young girl who served me was amazing and helpful and the gelato was beyond belief! I had hazelnut on my first day in Niagara on the Lake .... and dark chocolate sorbet and hazelnut on my last night. All I can say is "delicicious"!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.