We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't able to fit us in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trius Winery at Hillebrand

Trius Winery at Hillebrand
1249 Niagara Stone Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
800-582-8412
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For over three decades, Trius Winery at Hillebrand has anchored wine tourism in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Trius Winery Restaurant's Executive Chef, Frank Dodd earned the 2010 Toronto Gold Medal Plates award. He impresses the palates of guests daily. The Loft, located above the retail boutique, features private tastings of Small Lot and Single Barrel wines. A slate of special and seasonal events - such as the summer jazz and blues festivals, blending workshops, Icewine-grape harvesting and barrel cellar dinners - keep the place hopping year-round. Winemaker Craig McDonald delivers true flavours from affordable Artist Series wines; the blended Trius Red, White and gold medal winning Brut sparkler; and the premium Showcase single-lot bottlings.
Medina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wasn't able to fit us in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Before I complain ....we did have a set time reserved to go there ...wasn't just stopping by. As we went to the main area , we told them we were here for our tour group ...we were told they couldnt fit us in ....very disappointing ....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery at Hillebrand, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Please feel free to contact Joanne Martins, Retail Manager, at joanne.martins@triuswines.com as she would be happy to discuss your experience at the winery. Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    51
    19
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank You Bob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of the free wine tasting coupon from our hotel. The friendly personnel asked us if we wanted a tour of the winery. With the tour you get a $5 deductible voucher if you purchase any wines from them. Bob was our guide. Tasted other wines that were different from the previous free tastings. Mr. Bob instructed us how to taste the ice wine which was pleasantly sweet. He was very informative on the way the vines grew, the equipment used, and special barrels used. He even told us about the "special" tasting room called The Loft. There I met Eve, the beautiful decanter that poured a deliciously semi-dry special red wine. We didn't go to any other wineries because this was so deliciously palpable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara M, Public Relations Manager at Trius Winery at Hillebrand, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your winery tour as well as your tastings at our Winery Boutique. I have passed on your kind remarks in regards to Bob to our Retail Managers. I'm sure he will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Saturday evening dinner - tasting menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The atmosphere was very good, service very good, the 5 course meal had very good portions and very poor portions – very good: the oysters, the scallops, the soup but very poor was the main entry -the so called rib eye cooked correctly but very poor quality of meat and the 5.50 charge for the still water service was another example of way over priced. Service was again very good but the kitchen was very slow with long waits between servings took over 2 hours to complete the meal! – overall on a scale of 1-10 not more that a 5 and way over priced for the quality!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSISSAUGA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“VERY ENJOYABLE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went on two tours during our stay and this was the best one by far. Our guide was very lively and informative. She provided great info and took us down to the cellars as well followed by a tasting of three wines, white, red and icewine.

Your tour receipt gives you a $5.00 discount on ANY purchase you make whereas some of the other vineyards only give you a discount if you spend a certain amount of money or no discount at all.

This winery also offers many different types of tours depending on your interest or budget.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice tour and excelent ice wine. Our tour guide was fabulous.
The winery tour is very interesting and they have a nice and huge boutique to take some bottles home.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trius Winery at Hillebrand also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery at Hillebrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trius Winery at Hillebrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trius Winery at Hillebrand to your Saves list