We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trius Winery at Hillebrand

Trius Winery at Hillebrand
1249 Niagara Stone Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
800-582-8412
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over three decades, Trius Winery at Hillebrand has anchored wine tourism in Niagara-on-the-Lake. Trius Winery Restaurant's Executive Chef, Frank Dodd earned the 2010 Toronto Gold Medal Plates award. He impresses the palates of guests daily. The Loft, located above the retail boutique, features private tastings of Small Lot and Single Barrel wines. A slate of special and seasonal events - such as the summer jazz and blues festivals, blending workshops, Icewine-grape harvesting and barrel cellar dinners - keep the place hopping year-round. Winemaker Craig McDonald delivers true flavours from affordable Artist Series wines; the blended Trius Red, White and gold medal winning Brut sparkler; and the premium Showcase single-lot bottlings.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Modern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The restaurant at this vineyard has very Avant-Garde menu as well as the setting. It is well worth the experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    62
    22
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stopped in at the Trius Winery during a series of wine tours. Our tour guide was very friendly and we learned a lot about how the wine is made. We enjoyed our structured wine tasting as well. I am very glad we stopped by this winery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for the best night of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My fiancée proposed to me at this winery so it will always be special to me. We did our own private wine tour and We would like to say a huge thank you to Sonja who stayed late with us to finish the tour and made the experience so wonderful. We then ate at the restaurant and were lavished with attention from all the staff, the food was out of this world and we felt so attended too the whole night. We hope to return one day soon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Tour! Thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We did the tour which they seem to run hourly.
Had a fun lady teach us how to properly check our wines for freshness etc. - saw behind the scenes - vats and bottles in storage - apparently they are a huge champagne style producer and have a great bottle in there store for 25.00 - they won some awards for this wine - ask for a taste - you will surely leave with a bottle or in my case 6!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Seeing the fruits of nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hillebrand Winery is a favourite place for our family to visit when in Niagara on the Lake. There are many beautiful wineries in the area but we all have our favourites but the location, buildings and the courteous staff
are very special to our family.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trius Winery at Hillebrand also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery at Hillebrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trius Winery at Hillebrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.