We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hosts and comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merlot House
Save
You added Merlot House to your Saves list
619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super hosts and comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Merlot House B&B twice this summer and was extremely satisfied on both occasions. Hosts Shirley and Mike attend to your every need, providing guidance on wineries and fruit stands to visit, restaurants, activities in the area. Mike even let me borrow his bike helmet when I forgot mine. The rooms are fairly spacious, there is a shared kitchenette area that is well stocked, excellent water pressure, and the breakfast is superb, starting with fresh baked muffins, fruit salad and then something more substantial to send you off for the day. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Janice
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review. Hope you come back and see us the next time you visit Niagara on the Lake.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Amazing, perfect time. Beautiful room; extremly comfortable. Amazing food and amazing customer service. Attentive without being overbearing. Beautiful home and amazing attention to detail. Will be booking again.

Room Tip: **no swimming pool, accidentally selected**
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the Shaw suite. It was my mother's first trip to the area and her first stay in a bed and breakfast. Our hosts were very welcoming and thoughtful. We had to miss our first breakfast there due to some plans that took us away early in the morning. Our hosts left us a take away basket at the door full of treats to bring with us on our journey. The breakfast that we did have the following morning was outstanding. Delicious home baked scones, a yogurt and fresh fruit parfait followed by the main course of baked eggs with smoked salmon. My mother really enjoyed her stay. The hosts have set the bar very high..not sure another B&B could top this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We appreciate it and hope to see you back again sometime in the future.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed our stay here. We had the room with twin beds and everything was clean, comfy and lovely to look at. A very quiet place. The owners are absolutely charming and so helpful. And the breakfast was very, very nice, tasty and beautifully presented. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again in Niagara on the Lake.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My mother and I loved our stay in the Merlot Suite at the Merlot House for two nights. They catered to my dietary restrictions, and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Gorgeous ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. Great location to main strip with vehicle. Beautiful backyard. So warm and friendly! Would recommend to anybody and would be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlothouse, Owner at Merlot House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you in Niagara on the Lake in the future.
Cheers
Mike and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our stay at the Merlot House was more than expected. We stayed in the Merlot
Suite which was comfortable and cozy. Breakfasts were great, both plentiful and tasty. But best of all were our hosts. Shirley and Mike could not be more friendly and attended to our every need. Pleasant conversation with them and the other guests were highlights of our stay. Our 5 day stay gave us the rest and relaxation we needed. We could not recommend the Merlot House more highly.

karen and John .

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Chardonnay and Merlot Suites. Both were nice but the Merlot Suite was large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippenville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having just returned from a two night stay at the Merlot House, we were excited to write a review. The stay was everything we could have asked for. We stayed in the Shaw Suite, which had very comfortable twin beds and a wonderful bathroom with plenty of hot water and a wonderful shower. The room was quiet and very peaceful, especially for late sleepers. The nine oclock breakfast hour was perfect for us and we found the company at breakfast to be such fun. We found the walk to Queen Street to be a little more than we wanted to attempt; but, the drive was only three or four minutes and parking was readily available.

We couldn't close without mentionning the breakfasts. Our food was obviously prepared with much attention to detail and by folks who love what they are doing. Finding meals made with homemade ingredients and such interesting combinations was great. We will definitely not only recommend this destination to friends, but, will plan a return stay ourselves. Thanks Mike and Shirley for a pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlot House

Address: 619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Mike and Shirley McBride invite you to experience Merlot House, an up scale bed and breakfast located in historic Old Town, a short walk to Queen Street shops, restaurants, and theatres. Numerous wineries are a bike ride or short drive away. Our Georgian-style brick home offers gracious accommodation in a casually elegant atmosphere. Merlot House has all of the comforts of home, including an inviting dining room decorated with an eclectic array of antiques acquired from around the world. Guests will enjoy the romantic country atmosphere enhanced by a warm fireplace, fresh flowers, and a delicious, homemade breakfast.Adjoining the dining room is a comfortable reading room and lounge where guests can read, play games, watch TV, or just relax with friends. The attached butler’s pantry offers 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks. Each of our three guest suites features a fireplace, cable TV, wireless Internet and private en-suite bathrooms with whirlpool tubs. After a restful night, join us for a hearty country breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade baked goods, local preserves, egg dishes, pancakes, and waffles. With advance notice, we can accommodate any personal dietary requests. Merlot House welcomes room reservations for children over 16 years of age. The house and property are smoke-free; and sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Merlot House is Service Excellence Certified by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlot House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.