We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merlot House
619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The Merlot House is a wonderful well appointed bed and breakfast. The house is beautiful, the bed is comfortable and cozy, and we had our own ensuite bathroom. The owners, Michael and Shirley, are friendly, helpful and extremely good cooks. Breakfast was delicious! We would definitely stay here again! Laura & Bryan L

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in September. Hosts Mike and Shirley are gracious, very accomodating and made certain we had an enjoyable stay. Breakfasts were excellent and they had no problem accomodating any dietary requirements. The house is immaculate. They remembered to provide the little things to make your visit enjoyable, even providing a laptop to check your email at home. We have no reservations about recommending Merlot House to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Merlot House for 2 nights during the first week of September with a friend ( Shaw room). Elegant and warm qualifies both the hosts and their beautiful house.The breakfasts were delicious , somptuous and served graciously. I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My sisters and I had a wonderful stay at the Merlot House on the weekend of Sept 17th. Our hosts, Mike & Shirley were very welcoming and provided us with everything we could possibly need for a truly pampered weekend. They even thought of providing a birthday treat for my sister.
The Merlot House is beautifully decorated with pieces from their many travels, and truly should be featured in a Home Decorating magazine. The bedroom suites are luxurious with added touches of fresh flowers, soft robes and chocolates.
Mike & Shirley prepared a package for us including trail maps for our biking trip, coupons for wine-tasting and excellent recommendations for restaurants and wineries. The breakfast was very delicious and beautifully presented. We all agreed that it was the best Bed & Breakfast we have stayed at and highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night in the Merlot King Suite. Very spacious and clean room with high quality bedding. Hosts were very pleasant and warm. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful! Was 10 minute walk to Queen St shops and theatres. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

One weekend this summer we felt fortunate to find a beautiful bed and breakfast to stay at while we visited Niagara-on-the-Lake. The bed was a four-poster in the lovely Merlot King Suite and the breakfasts were amazing. Our hosts Mike and Shirley were welcoming, attentive, and thoughtful. If we ever find ourselves planning another trip to the Niagara region, we won't hesitate to stay again at the Merlot House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My girlfriend & I, along with another couple, had an opportunity to spend some time in Niagara-on-the-Lake (NOLA) at the Merlot House. The accommodations were perfect and we can't say enough about the hosts, Mike & Shirley. They made us feel like family and were very knowledgeable about where we should go in NOLA for dinner and local vineyards. Additionally, Mike & Shirley were very entertaining - we could have spent the whole day with them. They have lived all over this small world and had stories to tell of their adventures in their lives before purchasing the Merlot House. If you're traveling to NOLA and you want a small, friendly B & B, then look no further, call Mike & Shirley and book your trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merlot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlot House

Address: 619 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario LOS 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Mike and Shirley McBride invite you to experience Merlot House, an up scale bed and breakfast located in historic Old Town, a short walk to Queen Street shops, restaurants, and theatres. Numerous wineries are a bike ride or short drive away. Our Georgian-style brick home offers gracious accommodation in a casually elegant atmosphere. Merlot House has all of the comforts of home, including an inviting dining room decorated with an eclectic array of antiques acquired from around the world. Guests will enjoy the romantic country atmosphere enhanced by a warm fireplace, fresh flowers, and a delicious, homemade breakfast.Adjoining the dining room is a comfortable reading room and lounge where guests can read, play games, watch TV, or just relax with friends. The attached butler’s pantry offers 24-hour self-serve coffee, tea, soft drinks and snacks. Each of our three guest suites features a fireplace, cable TV, wireless Internet and private en-suite bathrooms with whirlpool tubs. After a restful night, join us for a hearty country breakfast, which includes fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade baked goods, local preserves, egg dishes, pancakes, and waffles. With advance notice, we can accommodate any personal dietary requests. Merlot House welcomes room reservations for children over 16 years of age. The house and property are smoke-free; and sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Merlot House is Service Excellence Certified by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and by the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlot House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Merlot House to your Saves list