We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pillitteri Estates Winery

Pillitteri Estates Winery
1696 Niagara Stone Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
(905) 468-3147
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pillitteri Estates Winery like an insider
$108*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pillitteri Estates Winery proudly continues a family tradition of viticulture and winemaking excellence. For Gary Pillitteri, the opening of Pillitteri Estates Winery in June of 1993 was the culmination of a lifetime dream. Today the Pillitteri family continues his dream and tradition of quality, having received over 600 wine awards from around the world. The family’s winemaking philosophy is quite simple: “To produce the finest wines possible from the highest quality Niagara Peninsula grapes.” The strategy, however, is much more complex. Each vineyard and wine is treated individually since each has its own ‘personality’ that must be expressed. “Our goal is to produce consistent, quality wine for our consumers: rich, full-bodied reds; fragrant and lively whites; and luscious Icewines, all in a variety of styles to suit every palate.”
Congleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here on a day trip to Niagara Falls and all we had was some wine tasting with tips on how to drink it After that there was just time to do some shopping It would have been more interesting to take the tour of the winery itself but I guess the time constraints of the day probably prevented this

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff L, Manager at Pillitteri Estates Winery, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Sir,

We are very sorry you found your experience disappointing. We really appreciate your feedback. We rely on people like you to help us enhance our future customers' experiences.

I believe that you accompanied a tour group on your visit to our winery. Unfortunately we have no say in how long you are allowed to stay at our winery and whether or not you go on a tour. The tour companies themselves decide how long they stay at each location based on how many stops they make and how long the tour is scheduled for. We offer complimentary tours every day at 12pm, 2pm, and 3pm, (every hour from 11-4 during the summer) and anyone is welcome to join. We hope that if you ever have the chance again that you can take one our tours and have a more complete, and satisfying experience.

If I am wrong in thinking that you were with a tour group please let me know, and I am sorry if I made an incorrect assumption.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wine lovers dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had to visit this winery after having a bottle of their wine at dinner the other night! Every wine we tried was fabulous! Definately a place to visit again!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really learned alot about wine and wine making. I've just started to enjoy a few wines so this was really interesting and informative. I believe they charge $5 for the tour and that includes tasting. We had the tour included as part of a package deal. The Ice Wine was delightful and the making of it is amazing. If you never heard of it or tried it this is your opportunity. Neil was our guide and since it was not busy we got a "private" tour. Met the head wine maker and an assistant, both very pleasant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great wine, okay tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really loved all of the wine we tasted during our tour of Pillitteri Winery, and actually bought a few bottles. What I really liked about their tasting is that they allowed us to choose what we wanted to taste, where at some other places they just give you whatever they have. The tour left a bit to be desired. There is a lot to see, but our guide really rushed through it, as though he had somewhere else he needed to be. He spoke so quickly I was barely able to keep up.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thank you Neil for a wonderful time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a free pass from our hotel for the Tour and Tasting and was able to get Neil as our tour guide! Neil really knew what he was talking about, and kept us entertained and informed during the tour. When it came down to the tour tasting, he recommended a variety to us and also informed us about different pairings with the wine. I wasn't much of a wine-drinker, but now, I think it was because I was always drinking the wrong types of wine to pair with my food. Neil really accommodated us well and allowed us to try the wines based on what we liked/didn't like. Thanks again, Neil!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pillitteri Estates Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Virgil, Niagara-on-the-Lake
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Pillitteri Estates Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pillitteri Estates Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.