We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 Stars out of 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast

1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   519 Mississagua Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
“11 Stars out of 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this B&B again Victoria weekend for the 5th year and as always it was excellent. We think Frans and Lois compete to see who can make the best breakfast. We did not care because we got the rewards. They were both winners as far as we were concerned. When we were there we had a problem with a loose rod hanging down under our car. We mentioned it to them at breakfast and Frans insisted we take a look at it to make sure it was safe. He jacked up the car and fastened the loose rod in place so it would be safe until we could take it to a garage. Who does that for their guests in this day and age? We are always so pleased with the accommodations and the service we would not even consider going to another B&B in Niagara on the Lake as long as Lois and Frans are operating this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. I loved everything about it. A beautiful space, completely separate from the main house, so it felt completely private. Bright space, beautiful art, lots of character and unique pieces of furniture. It was very warm, cozy and comfortable. Excellent breakfast the next morning, with everything you could ever ask for. Lois & Frans were the quintessential hosts with advice about places to eat, visit & explore. I would recommend this place to anyone & everyone I know!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We expected a room, but we had a room with our private lounge where Lois and Frans served us breakfast. Excellent value for the price. More than the usual toiletries in the bathroom. We felt at home and we recommend it.

Suzanne and Cliff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lois & Frans are the most gracious, warm and knowledgeable hosts! The accommodations are perfect, great attention to every detail and need. The two bicycles are great for touring the wineries. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. This has been my second time here and not my last, even if they move.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Rising Sun this past weekend (Sept 13-15). The accommodations were excellant and the hosts were pleasant engaging people that were happy to assist with any questions about the area attractions. The breakfast was also excellant. We will definetely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

very welcoming couple
with great advice re: restaurants etc.
The breakfast is continental--but is much more--delicious!
Our only Place to stay in NOTL.---John and Elaine.
(We will definitely join Lois and Frans when they move to a larger establishment even if we have to book all three rooms! J and E.)

Room Tip: One suite---so it's all Yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just came back from a two night stay at the B&B, and could not be more pleased. We had a complete suite, with two bathrooms. The art on the walls by Lois is just beautiful and sets the tone of the place. Bright and cheery. Everything was just perfect; the beds, the breakfast, and the hospitality. Very helpful and caring hosts. We hope to go back some time soon.

Room Tip: There is only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast

Address: 519 Mississagua Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home (circa 1818) in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake,Ontario. Private separate quarters within resident artist's home & gallery. Kingsize bed, a/c, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, TV, ironing board, hairdryer, free wireless internet. Tastefully decorated. Main floor entry. Patio for guest's use available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1818 Rising Sun Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.