We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Lovin'
Etobicoke
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed November 24th, 2013 for one night at this hotel.
The front staff was very helpful.
Our television did not work properly and they fixed it immediately.
We loved the pool. Very nice place.
The room was clean and well cared for.

Room Tip: If you can not walk a lot ask for a room close to the pool as there is a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    170
    70
    40
    23
See reviews for
118
440
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a very nice hotel - we had a Deluxe room with a fireplace - also very nice. The reception on the TV was terrible ... and our stay included the country trolley tour which was overbooked meaning we had to stand for sections of it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. I can assure you that it is on a very rare occasion that the trolley tour is overbooked, we sincerely apologize for this, at the particular time of the year we had the trolley tour included into a package and therefore it booked up rather quickly. Our goal is to make every guest feel valued and welcome and we will use your experience as part of our ongoing training to provide the best service possible to each of our guests. We hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we might show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just stayed at the Pillar. Concierge suggested a wine tour with Niagara Classic - think they are now Community Transport or something. Anyway, hotel was amazing...staff friendly, food delicious at the Cannery and the wine was super fabulous. Wine tour on November 16th in Niagara on the Lake with the tour company was like nothing else - even got a complimentary bottle of wine. Totally suggest the Pillar and Post. Johnny D.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my 1st time at the Pillar and Post after hearing about it for years.
Location - conveniently a short walk to the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake, near restaurants, quaint shops and the Shaw theatre.
Hotel - tired-looking but I guess it's going for a rustic feel?
Room - the bed was really too soft! Perhaps time to change the mattress? And the bathroom was very small with little room to put my toiletries. At least there's a flat screen TV. Room was clean.
Amenities - enjoyed the indoor pool (nice temperature) and hot tub. The outdoor pool looked enticing (even in November) but I didn't venture out. The gym was decent. I didn't get to frequent the spa.
Food - My husband and I were there with a group for a conference. We had breakfst and lunch there which were both buffet-style. Decent fare. Some hits (omelette, waffles, sausages) and misses (pork chops. fruit gone bad). Service was okay.
Front Desk - friendly and helpful.
Value - As we had a group rate, it was worth it but I definitely wouldn't pay $300!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Pillar and Post. We will keep your suggestions for common area and amenity improvements in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. It is certainly not our intention to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. As for the decor, the Pillar and Post is known for its charm however, we are currently working on the appearance of the hotel and making several changes to be more appealing and better functioning for all of our guests. We very much appreciate all of your comments, we hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we might show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent last weekend at the Pillar and Post in Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONT. We had not been there in several years but this trip reminded us of how much we love this place. The Pillar and Post is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are wonderful (we highly recommend a room with a fireplace). The staff is exceptionally helpful and go out of their way to ensure a high quality experience. We had brunch on Sunday morning and the buffet was amazing with a mind boggling set of choices. You will really want to leave room for dessert though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are very flattered by your recommendation and your compliments. Thank you for your repeat patronage, the loyalty of our returning guests means a great deal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Pillar and Post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had an outside room with a king bed and fireplace. Upon arrival, the room was very cold, the bathroom tap leaked all over the counter, and the heater in the bathroom didn't work. The phone also was not working properly ( you had to put it on speaker phone to use it).
We called the desk ( with our cell) and complained and they offered us a free breakfast and chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine.
With a toasty room and the strawberries and wine, we felt a little better.
The dinner at the cannery , with Derek as our server was excellent. Thank you Derek.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased you have taken the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post. As we are always striving for ways to improve and enhance the experience of our guests, we will be looking into the room you stayed in and checking the room temperature, the tap leaking and also will repair or replace the phone. We truly apologize for your experience, but are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with the customer service you deserve. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, wine and chocolate covered strawberries and we hope to welcome you back to the Pillar and Post in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My daughter and I spent a couple of days at the Pillar and Post last month, we had a wonderful time. We had breakfast on the first morning at the hotel the eggs Benedict were amazing as well as the service. We had a fireplace room which was wonderful during the chilly fall nights. Every evening housekeeping knocked at our door with a fresh rose, coffee k-cups for our coffee maker and an inquiry if we needed our towels replenished. The best part was that we were able to bring our bichon-poodle with us for a small charge and they gave us a room with an enclosed patio so she could run outside while we sat out and enjoyed our coffee. The highlight of our trip was the ghost walk we took on the second night. Did you know that Niagara-on -the-Lake is the most haunted place in Canada with 80% of the residential homes claiming to be haunted as well? Perfect for pre-Halloween. Also don't miss checking out the Haunted Shop where the tickets are sold definitely interesting! We took an afternoon trip to Niagara Falls that only reinforced what a great choice we made by staying where we were. They have a beautiful pool to relax in as well as the hot tub and the hotel was decorated nicely for the fall, definitely was a great choice

Room Tip: Ask to bring your little dog and they will be happy they came especially went they're laying by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are so pleased that you and your daughter were able to have a relaxing getaway to Niagara and that you picked the Pillar and Post for your stay! Thank you so much for your favorable review and we hope to see you, your daughter and your little furry friend back at the Pillar and Post in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.