We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre to your Saves list
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Lovin' is back
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing and top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Resort is smaller and tucked away from the downtown tourist area. Lots to do if you want but for us the pool and spa and hot springs were all we wanted and enjoyed all if them. Fabulous dining experience at the Cannery with our lovely server Ashley and her menu suggestions were spot on. Absolute must is the sample trio of prawns, lobster soufflé and crab cake. Breakfast buffet above average with made to order Omelette Bar. Lunch by the pool was a delicious wrap and bar service right at your lounge chair. The Spa was truly amazing and the services and treatments offered were numerous. Jody provided a wonderful scalp massage and her reflexology treatment had me both relaxed and revitalized. Next I was pampered with a classic manicure by Yvonne. This lovely lady was like a skilled musician. She knew what she was doing and did it well. Overall a very friendly homey atmosphere and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate all your wonderful feedback about our hotel and we are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the spa and take advantage of some time away from the everyday. I will be sure to share your compliments with all of the staff mentioned, thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    282
    133
    59
    31
See reviews for
189
764
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff was all incredibly friendly, from the front desk, to cleaning, to restaurant servers. The atmosphere is very nice, but I have to say that for the price that you pay to stay here, the food & the rooms should be a whole lot better. Our queen bed deluxe room was nothing special, & the bed actually wasn't very comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantome, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Before we arrived, we had ordered theatre tickets. The staff was most helpful in getting us the shows we wanted. Our suite was lovely and very comfortable. The staff made us feel very welcome and were most helpful. They were well educated in all of the restaurants in the area as well as finding interesting things to do in the area. The two young men who drove the shuttle were wonderful and very prompt in getting us to restaurants, the theatre and getting us back. They even took us to an after hour place and security came and picked us up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with my mother for one night of a long weekend escape. We got a special promo deal. This is normally a very expensive hotel and if I had paid top dollar, I would be disappointed. The rooms are clean but the decor is dated with cheap-looking natural wood molding on white walls, lantern light fixtures and bland jewel-tone upholstery and bedding. It feels like a country-themed chain motel from the 80s. A brown velvet couch with wagon-wheel arms would have fit right in. The pillows are very large and firm, so you can't get into a comfortable sleeping position. The breakfast buffet (included in our package) was nothing special and the made-to-order omelet was completely overcooked and browned on all sides.

The public and outdoor areas are really nice. The pool is pleasant and the gardens/landscaping are lush. The "hot spring" is really just an outdoor hot tub with interesting landscape design, not a natural hot spring, so that is a little misleading, but it was very grotto-like and a nice experience.

So, the Pillar and Post is an OK hotel, but it touts itself as a premiere historic property in Niagara-on-the-Lake and it is just not up to the 4-star standard, in my opinion. I have stayed at the Prince of Wales and it is more consistent with the luxury marketing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the experience you had during your stay. It is certainly not our intention to give such a poor impression of our hotel and we are so sorry that you were made to feel this way. As for the decor, the Pillar and Post is known for its charm however, we are currently working on the appearance of the hotel and making several changes to be more appealing and better functioning for all of our guests. We very much appreciate all of your comments, we hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we might show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My Fiancée and I just stayed here over the weekend. I am pleased to say that the experience this time round was very different than the first time we stayed at the Pillar and the Post.

Everyone on staff was very friendly and accommodating.

We stayed in a beautiful, very large suite...and decided to give the Cannery (restaurant in the hotel) another chance. It was fantastic! I had the Salmon, it was so flavorful and the portions were perfect.

We also had a massage at the spa. The spa itself was peaceful and beautiful. It was so relaxing and our RMT's were great.

It was the perfect romantic weekend and we will most definitely be visiting again!

Thank you Pillar and Post!

Room Tip: The rooms inside the main building are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your lovely experience and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Pillar and Post Inn and Spa. Our goal is to always provide you with exceptional quality and service to ensure your stay is memorable. Again, thank you very much for your lovely compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The pool area and flowers are beautiful. It was quiet and comfortable. We were happy that the staff removed towels from the pool loungers periodically throughout the day. Just before we went to the pool, all the loungers had towels on them even though there were only a few people in the pool area. The staff went through and removed towels and we were able to get 4 loungers together for our family. Waiters came through the pool area often to take orders for drinks and food. The turn down service included a rose which was a nice tough. The buffet breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I are not from the Niagara area but have always love the charm of Niagara-on-the-Lake so it was an easy choice as a location to have our wedding. The Pillar and Post is just beautiful! The rose garden is stunning and made a great place for our ceremony. When we first saw the room for the reception we feel in love. It is gorgeous on its own with the wood and mirrors and therefore needed little extras when it came to decorating.
The best thing about picking the Pillar and Post as a venue for your wedding is that you can customize many things from the menu, room set up, everything! They are so flexible and accommodating. We were able to have our fairy tale wedding without feeling like it was a cookie cutter of what everyone else gets too. It also allows you to work within your budget when it comes to how much food and drink to provide based on your needs and price.
The staff are all very accommodating and you are provided with a wedding coordinator who helped make sure everything ran smoothly!
We had so many compliments about how good the food was and how beautiful the setting was.
I would fully recommend the Pillar and Post as a venue to get married at! My Husband and I look forward to many pleasant visits over the years :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property-Services, General Manager's Office at The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated all of our little added touches for your wedding. We are very thankful to have such a wonderful staff who truly care about our guests and their needs. Congratulations and we hope to see you back at the Pillar and Post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre

Address: 48 John St | P.O. Box 1011, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#9 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre's original structure was built in the late 1890's as a canning factory, and since has been lovingly transformed into a charming country inn. With its relaxed elegance, modern amenities, indoor and outdoor pools, and exotic hot springs pool at 100 Fountain Spa, #1 spa in North America (Spas of America 2007-8), Pillar and Post is an ideal setting for a spa getaway, wedding, conference, or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillar And Post Niagara
Pillar And Post Hotel
The Pillar And Post Hotel
Inn Pillar Post
Pillar Post Inn
Pillar & Post Hotel
Pillar & Post Niagara Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.