We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Front Street | PO Box 94, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'm a local and I love bringing out if town visitors here. Their restaurant is fantabulous. Chef Jill is a creative whiz and we've never had bad service or a bad meal - lunch and dinner options are top notch.
Their staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and their wine list is fantastic representing local wines.
This is the only place my picky Mom wants to go to when she visits here.
They also arrange private wine tours of the area but their tour guide Denis in high demand so book early!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    66
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
25
167
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Gardens around the hotel are very pretty. We needed a room with 2 double beds and it was very small, and the bathroom was very tight. We booked for 3 people but only had towels for 2 people and we had to call everyday for more towels. The complimentary breakfast was so-so. We ended up having a hot breakfast at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked a spa treatment here during a recent visit to the area. Compares well with other NOTL spas. Good massage therapist and relaxing environment. Just what the doctor ordered! Would like to return and try both the restaurant and the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburb of NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at the Oban Inn, as had always wanted to visit the lovely town of Niagara on the Lake and attend the Shaw Festival and sample some wineries. We had a deluxe room in the building adjacent to the main building, with a small terrace. That building does not have an elevator so might be a problem if cannot walk up stairs. We asked that a dresser in the hall be moved into room as none was provided. The room was immaculate, the continental breakfast was fine. Did not use any spa facilities. Had no problem with wireless internet access in the room. Did not have dinner there as we enjoyed other options. Would stay there again if I ever return to Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Oban and we could not have been happier with our experience. We stayed for 2 nights, in a premium room.

The room was spacious, very well appointed, and the bed was incredible to sleep in. In room there were multiple pillow choices, so our sleep was one of the most comfortable to date. The room was clean, and stayed spotless during the duration of our visit. The housekeeping staff were friendly every day. Windows opened to fresh air from the lake, and the atmosphere of the rooms is one of modern comfort.

We had dinner one night in the dining room as a part of a package. What a good call that was on our part! We were able to choose three courses each, and every single one did not disappoint. The meal moved along at a great pace, and the service was attentive and friendly. The sommelier Kim made some great wine recommendations and made the mood of the meal downright perfect. Thanks Kim!!

We took advantage of adding spa to our package, and my wife had a facial and I a massage. The spa staff were literally the best we have yet to experience. Both the asthetician (Monica) and the massage therapist (Irmi) said they had been with the owner for over 15 years, saying they loved working for her because of her high standards and enthusiasm. This showed in the treatment we received. Relax is not even the word for it - we were in heaven!!

To make it a perfect weekend, we added a wine tour through the property with Denis. This was by far the highlight of our weekend. Denis brings an intoxicating zest for wine to the experience, and our 4 hours with him flew by. Even if you don't stay at this property, please take the time to book a wine tour with this man. From France, his passion for wine is so evident, and his private tours make you feel like the most special person in Niagara on the Lake. While the other tours were shuffled off buses with name tags stuck to their shirts, we exited from our Mercedes private car and did private tastings in special parts of the winery while being educated on each and every wine we tasted. And we learned that our tour was better priced than those group bus ones! Imagine!

We look forward to returning to this charming, kind property, where all of the staff put so much heart into everything. For anyone looking for a quiet place in Niagara on the Lake, we'd highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Anything in the main inn is modern and updated. We had a room with a balcony and it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My fiancee, dog and I spent the night after I proposed at this hotel. For anyone looking for a romantic getaway, it does not get better than this.
While out of my usual price range, I am so glad that I splurged on this inn. As soon as we got out of the car, we felt like we were in a period film. The inn is absolutely gorgeous and kept up beautifully. Our room was gorgeous and came with a romantic balcony, perfect for a light wine and cheese dinner. A great little gym and outdoor hot tub were a welcome surprise.
And the breakfast? Don't even get me started! We felt like royalty being served such fancy food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here on a cross-USA trip in one of the cottage rooms. The Pros: great location in a great town and a beautiful area! Beautiful grounds/gardens. Extremely comfortable bed! Very quiet. Great massage (Thanks Lorne!). Dog friendly, and they keep dogs away from the main hotel not to bother other guests. The adequates: service (everything as it should have been but nothing exceptional), dinner (good atmosphere and service, food good but not great). The Cons: small room, bathroom needs a remodel, included breakfast was sad but acceptable in a pinch. Better to walk down the block to one of the cute breakfast places on Queen St. Overall, location and atmosphere win the day: would recommend Oban Inn and especially Niagara on the Lake to a friend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Also Known As:
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel
Oban Hotel
Address: 160 Front Street | PO Box 94, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled serenely in the heart of wine country and historic Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, minutes to theatres and attractions, The Oban Inn overlooks Lake Ontario and the Canada’s oldest golf course. With 26 tranquil, luxurious guest rooms and elegant dining surrounded by delightful ponds and lush English gardens and the creation of the beautiful new OSpa, The Oban Inn has become a celebrated wellness retreat. State-of-the-art exercise room, outdoor hot spring and infinity lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.