We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats the B&Bs for several reasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Front Street | PO Box 94, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Escape Save 15%
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beats the B&Bs for several reasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are trying to decide between many of the wonderful Niagra on the Lake B&Bs or Oban Inn....read why we think its the right choice. My husband and I visited for a "babymoon" weekend. Between my discomfort/need for a massage, picky eating habits, and his need for constant entertainment, a good workout, and great wine, we were hard to please. Obann Inn did not let us down.

Reasons:
1) small boutique hotel so it is personal, but private with a view of the lake
2) easy parking
3) spa is AhhhMAZING. Lorn gave one of the best theraputic massages ever experienced
4) they will get you whatever you need and handle reservations: we needed a DVD player and a fridge...done within an hour. we needed to change some reservations...done immediately.
5) pool, hot tub and gardens onsite (I think the flowers are on steroids)
6) private wine tours from the hotel ($65pp for 3 hours of fun in 4 wineries) Dennis was extremely knowlegable and a pleasure to have around while you spend private time with your friends/fam
7) wifi
8) great restaurant on site. a little pricey, but serves a nice breakfast (included in your room rate) each morning
9) luxury bedding with emaculate room service, turn down service, roses, weather updates, and notes from the manager
10) easy walk to everything, but still has a view of the beautiful lake
11) they hold your wine for you and keep it cool :)

Would definitely stay there again. Thanks for spoiling us!
Matt and Katy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
27
195
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Niagara Falls is the main attraction in the western New York/Southern Ontario region. But just north and east of the spectacle of the cataract there is a region on the Canadian side called Niagara on the Lake. There are wine tours and the magnificent theaters known as the Shaw Festival and a flower filled downtown of shops and restaurants. Inside this lovely environment is a hotel and spa called the Oban Inn which captures the atmosphere perfectly.
The hotel sits so close to where the Niagara River runs into Lake Ontario that visitors can see Fort Niagara across the current. The surrounding homes are gorgeous and of wood from the early 1800's. The lawns around the inn have gardens that are colorful and fragrant. The lobby is small but lovely. The restaurant is classy. (I overheard German, Swedish, and Italian spoken on this trip!)
Our room was small but beautiful. The bed gave us a fabulous sleep. The bathroom was tastefully done like someone paid attention to look and comfort.
The Oban is an easy walk down two shady blocks to the main drag of Niagara on the Lake. Theaters lovers can walk from the inn to the Festival Theater on a nice night.
It is a little more expensive but it is a wonderful place to stay. Even the overnight thunderstorm we had was elegant! Other reviewers have mentioned weak wi-fi and special rooms with balconies. Both of those tips seem first rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Oban Inn during the beginning of July. We loved Niagara on the Lake and were very pleased with the Oban and will stay there again when we return to NOTL.

When looking for accommodations, we wanted a place with outdoor areas to relax and to be within walking distance of downtown. When I called the inn, the woman I spoke to was very helpful in describing the rooms and ultimately recommending room #303, which was perfect for us.

We travelled with our 7yo and wanted an outdoor space. Room 303 is accessed from the front of the inn (an outside entrance), along the beautiful front yard. There is a small patio next to a gold fish pond (a huge hit with our 7yo) and has a limited view of the lake and golf course.
Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. The common areas of the inn were very attractive as well. The gardens are spectacular, the amount and colors of the flowers boggles the mind.

The pool was an added bonus. The weather was extremely warm during our stay and being able to cool off in the pool at the end of the day was a welcomed treat.

Continental breakfast was included in our room rate. This was served on a tower that contained a selection of pastries, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and fresh fruit. Toast and yogurt were offered by the server. I enjoyed the breakfast but my husband would have liked a hot egg option.

As mentioned by other reviews, the wifi at the inn is very weak. This was a minor annoyances as we did not have cell service in Canada and were relying on wifi to stay connected to work.

The restaurant menu looked very nice but we decided walking downtown would be a better choice for our family.

Room Tip: Room 303 has a private, exterior entrance with a small patio in the garden. Some 2nd floor rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I had dinner at Oban Inn last night and it was delicious. The menu was creative and the service was above average. My only beef with our meal was that my appetizer, the sunflower seed crusted seared ahi tuna, was somewhat disappointing. The portion of tuna was not acceptable given the price and the entire dish was drowned in soy sauce - completely overpowering the delicate flavours. However, the rest of the meal was so fabulous that I still rate this dining experience as excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When your room already has an ice bucket filled and awaiting your return from a day of touring vineyards you know the staff cares.

The sommelier's attention to our enjoyment at dinner and willingness to make each element exceptional was at the highest level. Brava Kim!

Staff are perhaps the best in the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. From Front Desk to housekeeping we noted a consistency of platinum standard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have stayed there several times but my most recent visit was in February 2013. One of the most beautiful suites in the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake with an excellent complimentary continental breakfast for two every morning. The spa is quaint and utterly relaxing. Furthermore, the food, atmosphere and attentive service in the dinning room is truly wonderful and always consistent. I have also stayed in other hotel suites such as at Queens Landing, The Prince of Whales, The Pillar and Post, The Harbour House and White Oaks Resort, but, The Oban Inn surpasses all of these other places with respect to amenities, cuisine, decor, value and most of all, service! I would highly recommend this inn to anyone travelling to the Niagara region.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent my wife's birthday at their top-suite "the Oban Suite" at the Oban Inn. Although the suite was fairly large, there were a number of issues that question the value for money. At $395 per night (more on the weekend, much less expensive in the winter), we occupied a large bedroom (with a very comfortable king size bed), a large washroom (with a very cold ceramic floor) and a dimly lit sitting area with a gas fireplace (the screen was very so dirty we could hardly see the flame). There was considerable noise from the suite upstairs that continually woke us up during the night. This suite would be much better suited for the winter season to cozy up with snow outside. It is not very inviting for the hot summer months.

If the weather was good, we planned to spend a second night at this NOTL retreat. Given the atmosphere of this suite, we decided to check out! I brought a bottle of champagne to celebrate the birthday, but given the ambiance, did not even open it. By the way, the service from the front desk was excellent!

We had dinner at the restaurant. My wife had the scallops and shrimp entree that was absolutely fabulous. I had the grilled arctic char that unfortunately was overdone and dry. Mentioning this to the waitress, she quickly ordered another order that was much juicier (although some parts were somewhat raw). We ordered the 2009 Le Clos Jordan white, "Le Grand Clos", which was actually underpriced given other restaurants in the area and LCBO pricing and this exceptional Ontario wine made up for the overcooked fish.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a room with a terrace or balcony on the top floor to enjoy the view and minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Address: 160 Front Street | PO Box 94, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled serenely in the heart of wine country and historic Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, minutes to theatres and attractions, The Oban Inn overlooks Lake Ontario and the Canada’s oldest golf course. With 26 tranquil, luxurious guest rooms and elegant dining surrounded by delightful ponds and lush English gardens and the creation of the beautiful new OSpa, The Oban Inn has become a celebrated wellness retreat. State-of-the-art exercise room, outdoor hot spring and infinity lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Oban Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.