We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazingly unforgetable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant to your Saves list
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Front Street | PO Box 94, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Niagara Save 15%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most amazingly unforgetable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Oban Inn is the best kept secret in NOTL. Not overly busy with many guests like other hotels in the area. The decor beautifully suits the hotel's era : cozy and clean room with a beautiful view of the Niagara River. The restaurant is unique with four distinct sections, each had its own personality to fit anyone's mood. The spa is small, cozy, yet accomodating, and not overly packed with people....which we so appreciated the time of year we went. We understand it wlll change with the upcoming tourist summer season regardless, this is our favorite spot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear Marisa1961,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently this Spring! We hope we continue to be the best kept secret in Niagara-on-the-Lake for our guests to discover. We are privileged to be a part of a positive memory and look forward to welcoming you back for another initimate getaway.

Sincerely,
Celia Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    88
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
29
231
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My friend and I went to the Oban for a short getaway in March. We found a $250 pp package that included a wine tour, spa treatment, room, dinner and continental breakfast. I was really happy with the Oban Inn. The location is lovely, with a beautiful view of the lake. While it was early march and not very warm, I can imagine in the summer it would be even nicer to sit outside in the gardens and enjoy the lakefront. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms which involved a short (20 second) walk to the main building. There was a small patio with table and chairs that we did not use because it was cold, but in the summer it would be perfect to enjoy a cup of tea or a glass of wine. The spa was very nice - I am not a huge connoisseur of spas, but I enjoyed the steam room, the herbal teas and a fantastic massage (the pool and hot tub are open only in the summer). The rooms were very clean, quiet, well-kept and beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable although the pillows were a bit too big (which probably suits most people, but I prefer small pillows...having a "pillow menu" as many hotels do these days might be an interesting service to add). The restaurant was fine - nothing amazing. I am an amateur foodie, and I found the dinner on offer was good, but not amazing...for the price, anyway. I think most people would enjoy it - it was certainly interesting and nicely presented. Breakfast was lovely - healthy and wholesome. One suggestion for the continental breakfast would be to use yoghurt that does not have gelatine. As a vegetarian, I was not able to eat it, and nor would a Jewish or Muslim guest - but that's just a minor point.

The best thing about this inn was the quality of customer service. Although the entire inn felt very classy and elegant, it was not pretentious at all. Everyone working there was polite, genuinely helpful, but completely relaxed and down-to-earth - exactly the type of service I was hoping for. In fact, i would go as far as to say that this is some of the best customer service I have found in years - very lovely hosts in the restaurant, front desk and spa hosts.
I noticed the prices for summer double and triple for some rooms. I thought it was a really reasonable getaway for early march, and surprisingly, Niagara on the Lake is still a wonderful destination when snow is on the ground. I would certainly return to the Oban Inn, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others - even as a winter destination.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I used the spa and it was outstanding. It is a beautiful inn and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My spouse and I try to visit the Oban Inn at least twice a year for a luxury few days away. The Inn is small in terms of overall room but this is precisely what we like most. But beyond the beauty of the feeling of being at home it is both the Inn staff and the Spa staff which keep us coming back routinely and whenever we have international family and friends visiting it is always on the short list of places to visit. A day in the Oban Spa will bring you back to life. Beyond the luxurious treatments, the attentive staff bring a personal touch to the experience which always makes us want to book our return visits. The General Manager of the Oban, Celia Liu, is by far for the most professional and attentive host that we have ever found anywhere. On return visits Celia always welcomes us back in a way that does feel like we have just come home. Every visit Celia has been extremely attentive to our needs and offers suggestions to make each trip unique and memorable. Thanks to the entire Oban team. This is a must see and stay luxury Inn that acts as a wonderful Oasis any month of the year. You cannot visit or stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake without a visit to the our second home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We consider Oban Inn a home away home. The rooms possess fantastic character and the staff go above and beyond to deliver top notch service. Everyone is so friendly and professional, and we highly recommend staying here if you journey to southwestern Ontario. Oban Inn also has a superior fine dining restaurant, as well as a world class spa. It's the ultimate place to relax and unwind. We can't wait to book our next stay!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We highly recommend the Inn as a getaway for relaxing. The staff at the Oban Inn went out of their way to accommondate our stay with hospitality we have never experienced in our travels. A physical evening check up at our door was accommondated every evening complete with a rose and any needs. The spa massage treatment was amazing!! The staff had a genunie spirit in caring personally for each guest and giving sacrificially to meet any need both requested and requested. We felt so welcomed and a part of a family during our stay. The room was furnished with magnificant class and style and the romantic setting offered the sanctuary that our marriage greatly needs at times. Even the dead of winter we found the view absolutely breathtaking of God's creation. We would highly recommend the Oban Inn at any time of the year and when you truly need a getaway to refresh and restore.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Beyond the lovely accomodations I would say that the attentiveness of the staff was what made our stay worthwhile. The rooms are lovely and the spa is fantastic. Even the continental breakfast offered complimentary with the room was top notch. I would highly recommend Oban to anyone staying in NOTL and who wants to be pampered.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Gasp13,
It was truly a pleasure welcoming you to our Inn. Thank you for spending a few relaxing days with us and for sharing your experience. We are grateful for your complements to our team as they will definitely be enlivened from your feedback.
We look forward to your return to stay with us again soon.
Warmest regards, Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Address: 160 Front Street | PO Box 94, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled serenely in the heart of wine country and historic Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, minutes to theatres and attractions, The Oban Inn overlooks Lake Ontario and the Canada’s oldest golf course. With 26 tranquil, luxurious guest rooms and elegant dining surrounded by delightful ponds and lush English gardens and the creation of the beautiful new OSpa, The Oban Inn has become a celebrated wellness retreat. State-of-the-art exercise room, outdoor hot spring and infinity lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Oban Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.