We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Able bodied only” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gate House

The Gate House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Gate House to your Saves list
The Gate House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Able bodied only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After a recommendation from a friend my 91 year old Father and I enjoyed a meal at Ristorante Giardino on August 1st. As season's pass holders at the Shaw Festival we regularly enjoy eating in local restaurants often with friends or family. We will not be returning to Giardino's however because of inadequate access for my Dad who uses a walker. We were unable to open the door at the end of the ramp when we arrived and in spite of mentioning it on arrival the situation did not improve when we left. Another open door blocked the exit to the ramp and there was a large plant in the way. Apparently a disabled person is expected to go through a door, turn around in a small space to close the first one, move a large plant and then hope that the door will open. This would be awkward for an able bodied person let alone someone with mobility issues. Another tight U turn would be required to reach the ramp. My Dad's attempt to negotiate the stairs ended in a fall. Fortunately I was able to catch him so there were no broken bones and the only injuries were a bleeding arm and his pride. Another restaurant patron came to our aid before hotel or restaurant staff. When the concierge finally appeared he was less than apologetic. It really doesn't matter if food is good when attitude is not.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late at night with no reservation until the next day. The Gate House, which was in townn, had rooms available. No elevator, but staff did help us carry the bags upstairs, without us asking for help. The first room had curtain falling down and broken lamp. They were quick to move us to another room and extended our check-out until 1 pm. Funky decor, but immaculate, and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was served on white linen in beautiful dining room---very fresh fruit, croissant, cheese, and ham. Except for the cost, we felt we made a very wise last minute choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went here a couple of days ago with my husband. We paid roughly the same price as you would if you were to eat at a winery. In my opinion, go to the wineries! My husband ordered the gnocchi and beef which was okay, nothing special. I ordered the risotto and lamb shank. Oof! The risotto was okay and the veggies were good, but that lamb! Tough, bland and purple. It was so plain and awful that we didn't stay for dessert.

Our server was also...okay. He honestly did not care if we were there or not.

It was quite disappointing that nothing in their menu that highlighted local produce. Not even their wine was local and they are located in wine country.

To sum up, take an Italian restaurant that is "safe" for tourists, elderly theatre goers and that's what you get. Overpriced, bland food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

While the front of the location is nice looking and directly on Queens Street, once you get your room you may be disappointed as we were. The room is very old. Caulking is broken in the bathroom, furniture is old and outdated and frankly, ugly. The curtains in our room were broken and I asked the front desk if someone could come and try and fix the blinds. No one came. The front desk had so many different people working at different times, no one seemed to know what was happening. But the most important part of our problem was they made a pre-authorization on our credit card when we checked in and held our card's money. Then when we checked out they used put money on A DIFFERENT CARD and basically made an error. Long story made short, our credit card was not usable for at least 72 hours, therefore they locked up our card while we were on vacation. When we went back to the hotel to sort out the issue, the management figured out what had happened but did not even offer an apology, a dinner, nothing. It was ridiculous. I would never tell anyone to go here! Prices are way too high for the accommodation and the service. We had much better rooms and rates at other hotels in town. LOOK ELSEWHERE! Don't choose the Gate HOUSE!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, lovely location and grounds. Problems in order of occurrence: (1) no one offers to help with luggage; (2) Wifi is non-functional. You might get lucky and be able to log onto their wifi, but I guarantee you won't be able to access FB, your email if there is anything past simple text, or heaven forbid Trip Advisor; (3) room was furnished in IKEA lite with an average mattress. In fairness, the bathroom was clean and updated. (4) I agree with the other reviewer about breakfast. It is generous, but does not vary one iota over multiple days. We did not eat lunch or dinner there so I cannot advise. Now, if this property were charging about half of what it does, I would forgive all but the wifi. But this is billed as a high end boutique hotel, and they don't begin to deliver. I would advise looking elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with friends . We had booked a month or so prior and had to change the reservation from 2 rooms to one when we checked in. Staff made this adjustment and the only change in cost was for the 3rd person in the room. We found the room to be very comfortable, spacious, and quiet. Breakfast is included in the price, and was tasty and healthy and fresh consisting of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese and a lovely fresh croissant, orange juice and coffee. there is ample parking in their lot adjacent the building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Meal was delicious, gnocchi with pork and as was the Ceasar salad
Stayed at York Rd. Hilton. Many bed and breakfast facilities. wineries were totally super and soooooo many. Will return! Thanks to Regent and his driver for our carriage ride.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate House

Address: 142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gate House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
The Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.