We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location shame about .......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gate House

Save Saved
You added The Gate House to your Saves list
The Gate House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gate House
142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Bexhill
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location shame about .......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of The Gate House Hotel can not be understated, in the midst of the main street in Niagara on the Lake, you are in the thick of the beautiful avenue of plants, manicured lawns, quaint shops and restaurants, smiling people, a block from the Lake, lovely.

When booking they take a $100 deposit - in this day and age when every other hotel I have stayed in over the last 30+ years have taken a card number to guarantee the booking - was a surprise. On check in the gentleman on reception was in a very stressed state, made us feel as if we had arrived at an inconvenient time! No offer of assistance with bags.

The room was good, very clean, good size, nice to see two comfortable easy chairs and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

The free Wifi was not working, we mentioned this to the duty receptionist (who double up as waiters with the phone on the tray they were serving you from) they said they would get it sorted, when asked again if it is working they had forgotten to do anything and said they would tell someone, I doubt if they actually have Wifi as they had no intention of sorting it out.

Breakfast was a plate of mixed items, no cereal, no toast, nothing cooked, but a very polite smiling waitress with a phone!

No tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The guest information book opens with a front page of a place called Bari in Italy - curious for an hotel in Canada! the information did offer dialling codes but no prices for phone calls, did offer tea and coffee from reception but no prices and really would you fancy wandering around an hotel in the middle of the night looking for tea in your PJ's - my husband is a nocturnal tea drinker.

The lack of service, lack of facilities, lack of Wifi, poor breakfast makes this Hotel at $220 per night a very expensive option.

Room Tip: check out the B&B's they may offer better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the first time we've gone to NOTL in the spring - most of our trips there are in mid-summer. We love to take in as many plays as possible in our days there so it would be a gruelling experience without a wonderful and flexible place to stay. Once again, the Gate House more than met all our needs, whether it was ordering food and drinks outside of normal restaurant times or having a bit longer time in our room than regular check-in/check-out hours. The senior management and staff are gracious and accommodating. The place is beautiful with clean whites and lovely colourful accents. Since we had just returned from Europe, it was wonderful to have another blast of that sophisticated sensibility. We will return later in the summer, for sure; it was such a holiday even in just a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful hotel is right on the main Street in Niagra on the Lake, practically across from the Royal George Theater and walking distance to everything you could want in this beautiful town. Not knowing much about the Gate House Hotel, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised with it all, starting with the easy free parking on site and the very friendly and helpful service at the front desk. This historic hotel has been nicely updated with 10 large rooms on the second floor (no elevator) and surprisingly large, as well as modern, sparkling bathrooms complete with double sinks, large shower with glass doors, and even a bidet. Our airy large room was comfortable, clean and modern, done in black and white with red carpeting and included a seating area with 2 comfy leather chairs and coffee table and a flat screen tv on the wall. the Q bed was very comfortable. The Italian Risorante Giardino on the first floor was nicely done with floor to ceiling windows facing Queen St. Service there was always accommodating and friendly, especially Kuda, our server for the complimentary "continental" breakfast which turned out to be a huge and delicious meal of croissants, different hams, cheese, a variety fruits, and yogurt. We chose to eat dinner here and the food was fresh and deliciously prepared. Husband raved over his lamb shank in a rich wine sauce served over saffron risotto with seasonal fiddlehead ferns and asparagus. We actually decided to eat there again the next night, this time outdoors on their lovely patio where you can also sit and have a nice drink or glass of wine. There were a variety of interesting pizzas and the Bianca pizza we shared was excellent with homemade crust and ample enough that we couldn't finish it. We had previously had appetizers of a seafood soup which was a real bargain (@$10--it could have been a meal) and sauteed mushrooms in truffle oil that I'd been dying to try. But the most impressive thing about the hotel was its extraordinary level of exceptional service--from everyone we encountered. As one example, when we returned to the hotel one evening hungry for something sweet after finding every place in town closed, the bartender Matt (who also is the manager and sometimes chef) went into the kitchen himself and prepared a decadent and beautiful chocolate dessert for us . You can't beat that kind of personal service! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in the very heart of Niagara on the Lake. Excellent location. We had a great experience during our 1 night stay here.The room was very spacious, the beds were very comfortable, we had a great rest. The restaurant is very nice too and the hotel staff was very accommodating. They have a nice patio too.
Highly recommended for a short stay in Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at The Gate House with my new husband after 3 weeks in Cuba. The outside was inviting and our arrival greeted with a sincere welcome. Our room for the night, well decorated and spotless. Bathroom clean,with good lighting. Continental breakfast was fantastic, great service. Loathing the thought of heading to
Toronto tonight, and sorry we didn't book the Gate House for longer. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed a week in this hotel in October. It was excellent. We had a huge comfortable room (No 9) which was nice and quiet. A good breakfast is provided with very efficient service. The hotel is well located being on Queen Street the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake which is a lovely old Regency town. Most of the restaurants in the town are in easy walking distance and a small supermarket is next door. Free easy parking is provided and it is a lovely drive to Queenston Heights and the Falls. We tried a number of restaurants in the town; but in fact we thought the Italian restaurant in the hotel was really the best. Coming from England, we had not been to Canada for some time and we enjoyed ourselves enormously. We cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

After trying many other hotels in NOTL, we now only book this one for our trips to the Shaw Festival. In fact, we take one night off from plays so we can have a leisurely dinner in the Italian restaurant. The food is excellent and the wine list is good. Some weeks ago we invited friends to join us there for a weekend and we enjoyed the bar and the service. They too will now book this hotel whenever they go to NOTL. I am always impressed with the huge sparkling-clean windows, and I love the colourful accents on the pure white background. I'm delighted that more of the staff can now make good cappuccino -- it's a must for an Italian restaurant and for me in the mornings.
We know all the rooms and have our favourites. They are spacious and comfortable with lots of light. Gorgeous bathrooms with many drawers in the vanities. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate House

Address: 142 Queen Street | P.O. Box 1364, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate House Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
The Gate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.