We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Overnight Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

Save Saved
You added Prince of Wales to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Prince of Wales
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring on Stage
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful Overnight Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Prince of Wales Niagara on the Lake October 17, 2013

As we approached the valet parking area in front of the hotel, we knew that we were in for a wonderful stay, albeit brief, to celebrate a birthday. The abundant flowers and shrubs were still in bloom and the exterior of the hotel promised a “visit” to another time of luxury as well as atmosphere.
Once we stepped into the lobby to check in, we knew we made a great choice. Victorian style furnishings, a Tiffany mural of Athena in a flower garden, and mythological characters were the subjects of large white stone or gold statuary. It was all very lovely.
Prints of European scenes, royalty and other prominent figures were encased in thick, gold frames of that period, and lined the walls of the long hallways. To me it was like a castle setting and brought back reflections from favorite British dramas, especially the Downton Abbey series.
The room turned out to be a suite…a sitting room with tv, couch, chair and a sparkling white, gas fireplace that gave out warmth at the flick of a switch. The sleeping room was well appointed with a big closet, desk, tv, small refrigerator, and accessories for serving wine. Again, ornate prints decorated the walls, and the signature color of these two rooms was in lush shades of red. It was royal!
A plate of oranges and a small box of chocolates rested on the table with a birthday card which brightened our arrival.
What would such an experience be like if we ignored the hotel’s High Tea? We didn’t want to know, so we confirmed our reservation and were promptly seated at 3 pm. We each selected a different tea from the list which were brought in two, generous sized china teapots. A three tiered server was brought with four kinds of tea sandwiches, cut in various shapes and very flavorful. The top tier held the scones and other pastries and a condiment tray with Greaves strawberry jam (made in the town), a sweet cream and butter toppings, set beside it. The high tea, purchased along with the hotel reservation, was $60.00 plus tax for two. It completed the British experience and added to the delight of our day.
The hotel is right in the center of town. Parking is free for guests and all of the shops are within walking distance. Although there were a few children seen in the town, most of the tourists appeared to be of mature age on that Thursday.
One other memorable impression occurred while resting on a bench during my shopping. A neatly dressed newspaper boy was walking store to store, delivering the local daily paper, and carefully pulling each folded copy out of his logo delivery sack as he entered the stores. That brought back memories of small town USA in some bygone days. We loved the visit and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    117
    56
    36
    7
See reviews for
69
451
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was great, and we felt the staff did everything possible to accommodate us. We would definitely come back to Niagara on the lake, and stay at the Price of Wales.

The only downside was the lack of any type of night life. Although we did go on a Sunday evening.

Room Tip: Make sure you are booked in a room in the main hotel building (where you check in). There is a seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay here was just average -- mind you, it's still an overall good experience for NOTL. But you pay a premium in this town, and you expect a great experiene. Ours was just good.

We arrived at the hotel in the early evening, and our room was not yet ready (?!). It is very odd to not have the room ready well after the check-in time, but we were heading out to the theatre, so we stored our bags with the bellman and away we went. (Also, there was no doorman or valet out front, which was a [--]).

At any rate, when we got to our room, which was an upgraded room, it was nice, but not exceptional. I prefer the rooms at the Queen's Landing, Harbour House, Shaw Club, etc. Aside from the check-in, and so we didn't get to our room until after the theatre and dinner, which was 11pm.

The only way I'd go back to the PoW, given all the other options in NOTL, is with an exceptional rate. Which often doesn't happen. Shaw Club is the best bet for a great hotel with a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've been to the Prince of Wales several times, as overnight guests, and guests of their afternoon tea and the service and experience has been exceptional each time. We've been to afternoon tea at some high end hotels in London, and while those were very good, the Prince of Wales was better. Next time you're in the area, pop in for a spot of tea. Better to make reservations, but we were lucky to squeeze in without reservations this last time. You'll enjoy the ambience, the service, the food, the experience and of course, the tea!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Prince of Wales while touring Ontario. Initially we were booked for two nights, but extended to three we loved it so much. Top quality hotel and facilities with totally professional and friendly staff. They could not do enough for you.

Room were sumptuous and traditional. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and we loved having breakfast each morning in the glass conservatory at the front of the building.

The location is wonderful too. Niagra on the Lake is a lovely little town and a great touring location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary this past weekend, and I can't begin to tell you how disappointed we were after looking so forward to it for months. Our room completely lacked any type of charm or Victorian "look" (room 215). It was supposed to be a superior room but there was absolutely nothing special about it. As well, we had afternoon tea before we checked into our room and again, it was lackluster. We also had breakfast the next day (already paid for, otherwise we would not have eaten there again) and it was quite unacceptable. The buffet items were sparse and I believe the eggs benedict had spoiled (the sauce seemed sour), as I was quite unwell a couple of hours after eating them. I cannot begin to tell you how upsetting our hotel experirence was - I would never stay at that hotel again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First off if you want to stay in the 'hotel' make sure that is where your room is. Whenever I visit Niagara on the Lake I always thought it would be nice to try this hotel. So we did. and we ended up with a room in something they call the courtyard or courthouse which is not attached to the main building. It is next to the main building. For the price I'm not sure what to think. The rooms are kinda cool, very clean and classy. Its like being in an old castle but I was looking forward to being in the 'Hotel' not the very expensive 'motel like' addition. Our room looked into the back of a house. Not that I needed a grand view. Our first night we couldn't sleep because of a problem with a a/c. It sounded like a burst pipe all night and day. We did get moved to what they classify as a better room. I was surprised they charge over $400/night. The room was nice like an old lawyer office, clean and quiet but still not in the main hotel. The front staff were very nice and helpful and in the end made us happy with the out come.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be inn the main hotel building. Its not worth the money to be in their addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Of Wales Hotel
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.