We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in a special destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

Save Saved
You added Prince of Wales to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince of Wales
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Lovin'
Columbia, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a special destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to stay here, but for various reasons had not done so until 10 days ago. We are delighted to report that we were not disappointed. All of the staff from the front desk to the dining room to the housekeeping department made us feel special. After checking out, we realized we had left a few things in our closet. I called the hotel and found them most responsive. They packaged our things and shipped them to us at another destination.

We also enjoyed dining in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. It is pricy, but not out of line for a place of this quality.

In addition, the location is hard to beat. You can easily walk just about everywhere you want to go.

I should mention that we were upgraded to a beautiful suite that gave us more room than we needed, but I believe we would have given an excellent rating had we stayed in a regular room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    127
    61
    36
    7
See reviews for
73
478
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for business during the Council of the Federation meetings and accommodations, food, service, and location were all top notch. The food is reasonably priced for a hotel and it is situated at the intersection of King and Queen streets in the heart of the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake directly across from a beautiful park. You can walk everywhere from April to early November including a few local wineries. The hotel gym in the basement is functional although my room was more suited for sleeping and relaxing as opposed to some desk work that needed to get done. However, the WIFI was good and the room was quiet with modern speakerphones to boot. Small touches like free water, good soaps/shampoos and soft towels were well appreciated. As part of the Vintage Hotels group, they have shuttles that move between hotels and other local attractions. If you are travelling in the summer, this hotel did not have a pool that I could see for the kiddies, but the Pillar and Post down the road did. Would like come back for a couples, relaxing weekend ... but will ask for a room with a touch quieter AC unit if possible.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Our entire dining experience was extraordinary! The atmosphere, wait staff and food were all exceptional. From the moment you walk in, you know that this will be a one of a kind dining experience! The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive, and their knowledge of the food they were serving was impressive. Each course was prepared to perfection and the flavors were to be savored with each bite! We left feeling very pleased with our choice to dine at the Prince of Wales! We have also dined at Queen's Landing with a similar experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My partner and I recently had our second stay at the Prince of Wales. It's a truly beautiful hotel, with lovely, clean rooms, and one of the nicest, kindest staffs I've ever known. I highly recommend it (and the High Tea, which is delicious and a treat!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Prince of Wales did an excellent job last week to host an event for my company. POW worked with me for two months on an ongoing basis to ensure our event went exactly according to plan. The business managers who attended the event were very empressed by the decor of the hotel and some even sent their wives videos of their rooms. The catering service was great in the meeting room, and staff periodically came by to check if the guests needed anything. The staff at Prince of Wales is very friendly and very quick. I would reccomend hosting a meeting at POW if you are looking for a luxury week of business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and enjoy everything about it. From the time you enter, everyone makes you feel so welcome. The staff at the front desk are always there with a smile, ready to answer any questions, or just give some good advise as to where would be a good place to eat, drink, or just have a walk to the lake. I'm afraid I forget the name of the grey haired gentleman who is always there. He is fantastic.
The rooms are spacious and clean, very comfortable beds, towel warmer in the bathroom, and a shower you don't want to leave. Always a rose on the bed in the evening, and soft music playing in your room.
.
Just step out the front door, and there is the park across the street, and all those wonderful shops just steps away. Not much further up the street you can sit and relax by the lake. I'm not really a swimmer, but the salt water pool is a lovely way to end the day. Once in, I hate to get out. Very relaxing.
Everything about The Prince of Wales is perfect, the location, decor, and of course the staff.
We always look forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a superior king room in the main building. The room was very nicely decorated with many amenities (valet stand, keurig machine, towel warmer, etc.) It is well located directly across from a park and has beautiful landscaping around it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.