We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and centrally located property in Niagara-on-the-Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Prince of Wales to your Saves list
Prince of Wales
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A'May'zing Rates!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful and centrally located property in Niagara-on-the-Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for business during the Council of the Federation meetings and accommodations, food, service, and location were all top notch. The food is reasonably priced for a hotel and it is situated at the intersection of King and Queen streets in the heart of the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake directly across from a beautiful park. You can walk everywhere from April to early November including a few local wineries. The hotel gym in the basement is functional although my room was more suited for sleeping and relaxing as opposed to some desk work that needed to get done. However, the WIFI was good and the room was quiet with modern speakerphones to boot. Small touches like free water, good soaps/shampoos and soft towels were well appreciated. As part of the Vintage Hotels group, they have shuttles that move between hotels and other local attractions. If you are travelling in the summer, this hotel did not have a pool that I could see for the kiddies, but the Pillar and Post down the road did. Would like come back for a couples, relaxing weekend ... but will ask for a room with a touch quieter AC unit if possible.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    159
    72
    39
    7
See reviews for
91
572
9
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Our entire dining experience was extraordinary! The atmosphere, wait staff and food were all exceptional. From the moment you walk in, you know that this will be a one of a kind dining experience! The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive, and their knowledge of the food they were serving was impressive. Each course was prepared to perfection and the flavors were to be savored with each bite! We left feeling very pleased with our choice to dine at the Prince of Wales! We have also dined at Queen's Landing with a similar experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My partner and I recently had our second stay at the Prince of Wales. It's a truly beautiful hotel, with lovely, clean rooms, and one of the nicest, kindest staffs I've ever known. I highly recommend it (and the High Tea, which is delicious and a treat!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Prince of Wales did an excellent job last week to host an event for my company. POW worked with me for two months on an ongoing basis to ensure our event went exactly according to plan. The business managers who attended the event were very empressed by the decor of the hotel and some even sent their wives videos of their rooms. The catering service was great in the meeting room, and staff periodically came by to check if the guests needed anything. The staff at Prince of Wales is very friendly and very quick. I would reccomend hosting a meeting at POW if you are looking for a luxury week of business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and enjoy everything about it. From the time you enter, everyone makes you feel so welcome. The staff at the front desk are always there with a smile, ready to answer any questions, or just give some good advise as to where would be a good place to eat, drink, or just have a walk to the lake. I'm afraid I forget the name of the grey haired gentleman who is always there. He is fantastic.
The rooms are spacious and clean, very comfortable beds, towel warmer in the bathroom, and a shower you don't want to leave. Always a rose on the bed in the evening, and soft music playing in your room.
.
Just step out the front door, and there is the park across the street, and all those wonderful shops just steps away. Not much further up the street you can sit and relax by the lake. I'm not really a swimmer, but the salt water pool is a lovely way to end the day. Once in, I hate to get out. Very relaxing.
Everything about The Prince of Wales is perfect, the location, decor, and of course the staff.
We always look forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a superior king room in the main building. The room was very nicely decorated with many amenities (valet stand, keurig machine, towel warmer, etc.) It is well located directly across from a park and has beautiful landscaping around it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I had stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago on our honeymoon, and everything is just the way we remember it. Beautiful lobby, gorgeous dinning room and the salt water pool is a must. The hotel is right in the heart of Niagara on the Lake so walking everywhere is very convenient. We had breakfast with our package, which was excellent, and a bottle of wine from a local winery in our room everyday. Now who wouldn't want that!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.