We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise on Valentine's day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales

Save Saved
You added Prince of Wales to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince of Wales
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Lovin'
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A very pleasant surprise on Valentine's day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My fiance and I only planned dinner at Niagara on the lake area on Valentine's day. We drove around and visited wineries. Then later in the day, we changed our plan and wanted to extend our day trip to overnight. We called the hotel reservation hotline on the fly and we were immediately offered a room with discount rate as we were asked if we had our CAA membership! When we arrived at the reception, we were greeted by Cooper at the frontdesk. He was amazing!! He was friendly, approachable and yet very efficient in our check out process. He chitchatted with us and offered us with an upgrade option. We thought to get the most economic room, we ended up with paying same price we saw on the internet but with a king bed, jet-tube executive suite!! When Cooper learnt that we had dinner reservation at near-by winery (not affliated with their hotel), he immediately offered to arrange free shuttle service for us. It truly completed our evening and was such a pleasant surprise. The shuttle driver Chris was also very attentive and prompt. When we returned from our dinner and back to our hotel room, our housekeeper Siobhan, did not only turn down our bed! She prep'd the room with soft music and a rose on bed. Both my fiance and I were "Aww...." as we entered our suite. The next morning, we had breakfast at the solarium in the hotel as we thought we should not miss enjoying the view from the hotel. The "Escabeche" room view did not disappoint. The staff service was warm and friendly. All in all, my fiance and I had a wonderful time here! Also, every staff we had come across in the hallway, they smiled and greeted us. This is a very friendly and professional hotel.

My fiance and I had stayed in different level of hotels, from 5 stars to 2 stars... This one left a top rated impression because of the service!!

Room Tip: Check for CAA memebership rate and if you could, add the breakfast option during booking. Request s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear bebitong,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on tripadvisor! We were so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here. It is always very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to mention those that left a positive impression on you. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed many of the
wonderful amenities offered by the hotel, which added to your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kelly Exelby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    127
    61
    36
    7
See reviews for
73
478
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarence Center, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were so pleased w our recent visit we cannot wait to go back. Our first impression entering hotel was the outstanding service, attention to detail, and professionalism we encountered by Cooper! He is an excellent asset to the hotel- our room was perfect, dinner was excellent- we will be returning soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you like historic buildings, relaxing atmospheres and great service, then this hotel is for you! My wife and I booked a weekend getaway in the beginning of February. From start to finish our experience was enjoyable and memorable. The front desk service and valet parking were phenomenal. Very courteous, helpful and generous with information and free wine tastings. Once we entered our deluxe room we were charmed by the fireplace and decorations. And the food in the restaurant was delicious. All in all, we had the perfect weekend thanks to this hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone who is willing to spend a bit of money in order to get amazing service, food and accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Niagara on the Lake and stayed at the Prince of Wales for one night. The hotel is lovely and has an awesome location right on the main street. When we arrived in the front of the hotel, there was no staff to be found. We carried our own bags in. The hotel lobby is in my opinion a bit heavy with dark woods and oversized decor like sculptures and stain glass wall. The front desk was efficient in checking us in, confirming our dinner reservations and arranging for our car to be valet parked.
Our room, a Traditional Queen was on the small side and like the lobby dark. Which I guess is okay for sleeping.
Overall, our stay was nice but too formal for our tastes and not in keeping with the casual atmosphere of the town.

Room Tip: Try and book a larger room than Traditional and ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I planned a spa day at the Prince of Wales the last weekend in January. Between the two of us we own 3 businesses and are VERY busy people. We rarely have time to spend with each other doing something relaxing like enjoying a nice pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a massage or facial. I first called the Pillar and Post to make a reservation for a massage or facial for each of us. They were totally booked for the day we wanted so they referred us to the Prince of Wales Secret Garden Spa. Reluctantly, we agreed to make an appointment there but was told we would have the use of a salt water swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna (Pillar and Post seemed to have nicer amenities). We elected to go to Prince of Wales for facials (actually later in the day than we wanted) not only for the facials together and for the amenities, but because it was the ONLY day we could go and these were the only times available. When we arrived at the Prince of Wales Spa we were again told about the amenities and given lockers where we found robes and slippers. Both robes were washed but were quite tattered. We put our bathing suits on and then proceeded to the pool/jacuzzi/sauna area to spend at least an hour there before our treatments. The walls near the ceiling were black and moldy. The doors to the pool were marked up and scratched and dirty looking. The jacuzzi was not working- it was "bubbling" but did not have any heat. Two women in the pool informed us that house- keeping told them the heater was not working . My husband was VERY dissapointed as he LOVES and was looking forward to the jacuzzi. We both went in the pool - it was very cold. To warm up I said, "Hey, why don't we go into the sauna?? " The sauna had a sloppy sign posted on it "OUT OF ORDER" My husband proceeded to go the the front desk of the hotel to complain about the LACK OF WORKING AMENITIES and was told that they would "shuttle" us to the Pillar and Post if we wanted to use THEIR amenities- mind you, we were both sopping wet and would have had to totally dry off ,hair and all, and re-dress to venture outside in 10 degree F temperatures.....plus our $165.00 (apiece) facials were scheduled in 30 minutes-- we declined to be shuttled. Instead, we got dressed and went home. What a VERY dissapointing visit to this supposedly great hotel and spa, and what an immense waste of our time... We should have been told when making our appointments about the lack of working amenities... I am convined that they were just interested in having us spend over $300.. Unbelievable...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear KimberlyD,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at the Prince of Wales. It is with true regret to learn of the expereience you encountered during your spa visit, as this is certainly not our standard. If you would like to discuss your experience in furthur detail please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind Regards,
Kelly Exelby
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Absolute Royal treatment! Friendly staff, impeccably clean and luxurious rooms, wonderful restaurant! Will definitely return. Cooper at the front desk was very helpful. He gave us sight seeing suggestions in the region. It was as if we were talking to an old friend! Did I mention the spa? Don't forget to pamper yourself at the hotel spa! Afternood tea is also a must to complete the Victorian experience. Unforgettable weekend!

Room Tip: The king size bed was heavenly. We had a corner room - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very friendly staff from the moment we arrived, beautiful, spacious room w/ whirlpool tub and separate large shower, excellent service for hotel room and it restaurant and bar; food was great and beautiful presentation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.