We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaw Festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw Festival Theatre

Shaw Festival Theatre
10 Queen's Parade | Box 774, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
800-511-7429
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shaw Festival – bringing great theatre to life in the heart of Niagara Wine Country. One of the world’s finest theatre companies, the Shaw Festival is celebrated for its vivid and exhilarating productions of plays by Bernard Shaw and his contemporaries (1856-1950), and plays about the period of Shaw’s lifetime. Join us for a compelling theatre experience with plays in four theatres from April to October in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Located between Toronto, ON and Buffalo, NY, near Niagara.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Shaw Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A must-do! This gem of a theatre company brings broadway quality productions to 3 different stages in charming Niagara-on-the-Lake. Just saw Oscar Wilde's Lady Windermere's Fan and absolutely loved it. The art direction, set design and costuming were out of this world - certainly like nothing I've ever experienced before. Having been attending productions at the Shaw for years this is far and away their best year yet!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    199
    40
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Season at the Shaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been attending plays at the Shaw Festival Theater for many year and in my opinion this season is one of the most outstanding I have seen.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing plays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have now started a tradition of going to see a Shaw play every summer because we had such an amazing time. Bernard Shaw is a genius writer and his plays are a must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawfest, Marketing Coordinator at Shaw Festival Theatre, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We love that you are starting a new tradition in coming to The Shaw every summer! We at The Shaw totally support this! Thank you for your great feedback and continuing support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great theater in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

World-class theater in the vineyards. 3 theaters,approx. 10 plays per season. This year we saw guys & dolls ( very good), Major Barbara ( very good) and Faith healer ( good acting but the play is hard to access). Lady Windermere's fan also gets good reviews. One of the best repertory ensembles in North America

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lady Windermere's Fan Shaw Festival July 7th 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I love Oscar Wilde and I love this play, but I think there was a serious problem with the English accents, especially Lady Windermere, played by Marla Mclean. Her accent was a muddle of upper class English, working class South London, with Northern vowels thrown here and there. It was difficult to hear her and she spoke way too fast The second half of the play was better. Kyle Blair, who played Cecil Graham was brilliant. His style, accent and diction were perfect for Wilde. The production re: the set, the direction, the costumes were excellent. But we were disappointed with the acting. Gray Powell (Lord Dartington) started off well, then was positively wooden in the second half.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Festival Theatre also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Shaw Festival Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw Festival Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.