We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Start Your Wine Hobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson-Triggs Winery

Jackson-Triggs Winery
2145 Regional Road 55, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
(905) 468-4637
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of Canada ’s most architecturally stunning wineries, where our passion for wine and culinary excellence is yours to discover. We invite you to savour our award winning wines perfectly paired with seasonal Niagara cuisine staged throughout our 47,000 square foot winery during your next special event, winery tour or progressive lunch or dinner experience.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place To Start Your Wine Hobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are intimidated by, but really wanting to dive into, the whole Wine Culture, Jackson-Triggs is a great place to start. Get a ticket for their winery tour and learn from them about winemaking basics. This tour is informative and starts at the vineyard and ends in a tasting, where you can learn a few basics of how to taste wine. A small amount of your tour fee is rebated toward purchase of a bottle of wine. J-T creates a large variety of wines including the beloved Ice Wine that this region is known for. The winery itself is impressive architecturally, and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. When we were there in July, we merely described a type of wine we were looking for. The winemaker came out and told us we would be happy with a certain vintage, but he only had 6 bottles remaining, and we couldn't taste it. We bought it based upon his word. He was absolutely right; it was superb.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    46
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Amazing tour of the winery! Would highly recommend it! We would definitely return in the summer months for the outdoor concert we were told about.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were given vouchers to attend a tasting and a tour (even without the vouchers the price is very reasonable!!). We enjoyed several tastings of wine both at the tasting and along the tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the wine making process. They keep the tours pretty small, about 15-20 people and it's a very enjoyable experience. After driving around to get to this place we noticed several other wineries around but this one is definitely one of the better ones to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater NY Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you've never toured a winery, this would be one to consider. Our tour guide used humor to keep us engaged during the 30 minute tour of the estate while explaining the intricasies of growing and processing grapes. We checked out about 5 wines between the tour and the tasting event afterwards. The ice wines were among the best we ever tried.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinginflorida
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“An excellent, informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

As part of a resort stay, we were given two tasting tickets and two tour tickets for this winery. Really, all you need is the tour ticket ($5) because they allow you to do free tasting after the tour (and very nice wines during the tour!) Recommend that you call and schedule your tour in advance. The tour included the grafting and growing process, the effects of the area soil and weather, the processing and fermenting of the grapes, and the effects of different types of oak barrels on the flavor of the wine. Tasting is provided throughout the tour, and the tour ends in the tasting room. The tour ticket can be used to take $5 off the price of a bottle of wine. We thought the wine was of high quality, but wasn't our taste.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson-Triggs Winery also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Jackson-Triggs Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson-Triggs Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jackson-Triggs Winery to your Saves list