We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Country Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wine Country Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Wine Country Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
75 John Street W | PO Box 1789, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discount on Restaurants
GreenLeadersSilver level
Smiths Falls, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first stay at a B and B. And it will be hard for us to do any better. My wife and another couple stayed here in September for three nights. Rooms were extra clean and the three course breakfasts were amazing. This will be our go to place when we come back to NOTL. Thanks to John and Jeff for the hospitatlity. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
161
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once in 2010 and again in Oct 2013. The rooms are beautifully appointed and impeccably clean. The living room/dining room area for guests is very cozy and welcoming. Now the highlight is the breakfast. WOW. You wake to the smell of fresh homemade muffins in the oven. That alone gets your taste-buds excited for the feast to come. French pressed coffee, hot tea, home made muffins, a fruit smoothie, a main course AND a desert course. You won't need lunch! Each dish is beautifully garnished with edible flowers or herbs from the garden. They also offer lots of free tasting vouchers for many of the nearby wineries. John and Jeff are super nice people and make everything super easy for their guests. The location is great as well, you are minutes from downtown NOTL and wineries. Drive the Niagara River Parkway to Niagara Falls and you will be stunned at the difference in vibe between the charming NOTL area and the gaudy, tacky eyesore that is the city on Niagara Falls. The falls of course are a must see, but be prepared to get wet and to pay $18 to park your car!! We only ventured to the falls for one afternoon, preferring to spend our time checking out the wineries and NOTL area. Love that place :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort frances
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fantastic three course breakfast put on by John each day.
And it changes each day too.
Local produces used in season.
The rooms are cozy.
Highly recommended for anyone looking for the B&B experience.

Winery tour with Jeff as the guide was good value and well organized.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

John and Jeff know how to present a B&B and set a meal. Love this place! You cannot go wrong. We have been back for more than 5 years and they have maintained their standards consistently. TIP: take their wine offer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I returned to Wine Country B&B for a second visit after being so pleased with the experience last year. This time we returned with another couple who had never experienced staying in a B&B before.

As expected, we found Wine Country B&B to be as wonderful as last year. The home is located in a very quiet area of Niagara on the Lake. It's a short walk of about six blocks to the center of town, which makes it just far enough to be quiet but close enough to be convenient.

The owners of this B&B are both wonderfully pleasant people who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. You will be provided with a delicious four course (yes, I said four course) breakfast each morning that is comprised of custom baked goods, custom juice smoothees, gourmet quality entrees and a breakfast dessert. Quite simply, the breakfasts are to die for.

The owners are quick to offer good conversation, tips on where/what to visit in the area, insight into some of the best wineries and restaurants, etc. Although accessible and friendly, the owners also know how to "stay out of the way", too, and let you enjoy their home without being intrusive.

If you are looking for a spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, comfortable B&B within a nice walking distance of downtown NOL then this is the place for you. If you are interested in gourmet breakfasts prepared and served by a delightful host then this place is for you. If you are looking for advice and suggestions on what to visit during your stay then this place is for you.

First class B&B in a lovely area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a 40th anniversary trip, and we couldn't have chosen a better place. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which was attractively and comfortably furnished. The common spaces downstairs are also welcoming, attractive, and comfortable, a great place to relax. John, one of the owner/hosts, is a fabulous cook. Our breakfasts could have come out of Gourmet magazine. John was also very friendly, offering welcome advice of things to do and see in this charming town.
I would recommend this B and B to anyone.

Room Tip: The small room was fine for a couple. The larger room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Took my wife for her birthday. We stayed one night in the best room (forget it's name, but it's room #1 of 3). Our room was well decorated and we had private access to the front porch (second story). Breakfast was fantastic (5 courses?!). Great value and a great place to stay. We ended up walking to Queen Street. It's a bit of a walk, but certainly do-able.

Overall: I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Country Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Bed & Breakfast

Address: 75 John Street W | PO Box 1789, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Country Bed & Breakfast is a fully restored twentieth century home situated in Old Town Niagara-on-the-Lake. Detailed moulded ceilings; wide plank pine floors and soft, rich colours and textures greet you as you enter our home. Our fireplace and comfy chairs are the perfect companions as you relax with a book or a glass of wine, you can also sit on our front veranda and enjoy the sunsets and our award winning garden. Our guest rooms are furnished with antique period pieces and each suite has an en-suite bathroom. The decor of each room shadows that of three different areas of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Conveniently located two doors from the Pillar & Post Spa, our home is a short 10 minute stroll from historic Queen Street shops and the Shaw Theatres. Catch-up on some much needed rest and relaxation at the Wine Country Bed & Breakfast in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. Our promise to you - warm hospitality, clean comfortable suites and a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Country Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.