We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most interesting winery we visited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery

Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery
1366 York Road | Corner of York Road and Four Mile Creek Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1P0, Canada
+1 905-262-8463
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery is located in the village of St. Davids Ontario, On a lush rolling hillside farm owned by the descendants of David Jackson Lowrey since 1867. We proudly produce VQA wines from organic grapes, which have captured the attention of critics and wine enthusiasts across the country. Experience our on-site grocery located at the back of the Woodruff house selling bakery items and homemade goods. Linger on the porch overlooking the vineyard and enjoy freshly prepared foods at our restaurant featuring the finest local produce and ingredients. Taste, dine, shop and enjoy Niagara's best!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most interesting winery we visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited a few wineries in the area really just to learn about Canadian wine and Ravine delivered where some of the others fell short.

Think this has everything you would need, either an informative tasting, wine tour or a meal. Everyone we interacted with was well informed and happy to share what they knew.

Spent a very pleasant hour there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    64
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For those looking for some great food in a beautiful setting in the Niagara region look no further than Ravine. The food is excellent, the wine is great and the service is top notch. We had the chicken liver parfait and house-cured charcuterie to start, both of which were amazing. Between the group of 7, we then had a burger, pizza, mussells and a salad, all of which were above par. A great option during the warmer months is to grab an outside table and sit on the patio looking over the vineyard.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great wine, good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We'd been to Ravine winery 3 years ago, and decided to check it out again. We were very happy to see the addition of the large back dining area, the outdoor pizza oven with wine bar and the option of outdoor seating over looking the vineyard. There was also an addition of a steel building semi attached to the heritage main house. This addition definitely should have been painted to match the house and needed added windows. However, the wine was still just as fantastic as we remembered, the lunch menu has a 1st course and 2nd course option, both serving light fare or more substantial meals, paired with vinters choice of wine. Our hostess and server were very friendly and knowledgeable concerning the menu and wines. It was lovely to sit and look out of the enclosed back porch restaurant floor to ceiling windows. Well done.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Ravine gets it right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ravine Winery is definitely worth a stop if you're making your way through the Niagara region vineyards - either for a meal or a tasting/shopping tour. Their wine bar and store are in a house with a casual, farmhouse decor and they've also included a retail store in back with some deli-style foods and knick-knacks. We had lunch on their patio overlooking the vineyards and it was a very relaxing experience with friendly table service and a good thin-crust pizza/salad meal. We enjoyed several of their wines in the tasting bar and bought a few bottles as a result. Overall Ravine presents an inviting, countryside-style charm that fits very well into the Niagara regional experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“wonderful wine, beautiful restaurant, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

wonderful wine, beautiful restaurant, amazing food.
my new favorite place!
we went with a wine tour and went back the next day to buy some more wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.