We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beside The Winery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beside The Winery
Save
You added Beside The Winery to your Saves list
1301 Niagara Stone Rd, RR#2, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were skeptical of the place before we booked it - No advertisement, not much online reviews when we booked it (though the few reviews we saw had nice remarks), few photographs to showcase the beautiful and clean accommodation, and low rates (compared to the rest of the B&Bs around the area). We decided to just give it a shot, and it was the BEST DECISION we have made!

You cannot find any fault with Beside the Winery at all, in fact, this place is so FABULOUS that my fiance and I have been raving about it since. Here's why we would go back there again:
1. Impeccably Clean - cleanest B&B I have seen
2. Cosy and Comfortable
3. Convenient - it's just on the main road but it's super quiet for a good night's sleep
4. Thoughtful and friendly host Trudy - Amenities are all thoughtfully placed in the room for your enjoyment, and Trudy is extremely helpful in recommendations.
5. Value-for-money

It's people and places like that that you want to give repeat business to and recommend friends to patronise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I were traveling to the Niagara region for a wedding and decided to make a weekend out of it. Our grown children were also attending the wedding with their significant others so we had all three rooms booked for the first night. Trudy and Terry were outstanding hosts. Friendly, gracious and accommodating. The condition of the rooms and amenities was exemplary as was breakfast. A truly outstanding experience and I would not hesitate to return or recommend to others.

Room Tip: All rooms were impeccable. The king room is on the ground floor, rear of the house and has access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I Love this B&B !!!

last august 28th, me&my husband spent 2nights at this B&B for our honeymoon, the host; Trudy&Terry was sooo kind&warm to us. They both know alot about our country: indonesia, they been there for several times, so, we feel like home. the furniture, the ambiance, the food, the color of our Romance Room, the cleanness, we loovee it!! definitely will be back again in future. in fact, i miss them already...
Success for Terry& Trudy, wish you all have lots of blessing in your family.
We certainly will recommend this B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed 3 days with my wife and daughter. Inn keepers Trudy and Terry are very gracious and accommodating. Breakfasts were good and we were able to maintain our vegetarian/healthy diets nicely. The king room in the rear was especially good with it's private deck and it was quiet despite the fact that the home is on a busy road.

That busy road is the only negative, plus the house is not in cutesy Niagara OT Lake but that is balanced by the fact that the accommodations are quite reasonably priced. Definately recommend-I will never forget Trudy's warm, million dollar smile!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The name is what caught my attention when first doing research on B&B's in the Niagara area. After that, good old fashioned hospitality took over. Can't say enough about Terry and Trudy's care of their home and backyard oasis. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

A summer trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake for the Shaw Festival has been a family tradition for many years. We discovered Beside the WInery 6 years ago and since then have stayed there every year. We feel as though we are going to visit family when we return to the B & B each summer. Terry and Trudy are so gracious, friendly and entertaining that it's hard to leave at the end of the trip. The food is delicious, the rooms are beautiful and immaculate and the bedding is so luxurious, you'll feel as though you just crawled into paradise. This is a place that we will continue to return to regularly in the years to come. A highly recommended place for a summer get-away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Don't let the location fool you -- once you are snug in your spacious bedroom (with equally-spacious ensuite bath!) you wouldn't even know you were next to a highway. The rooms are big, clean and beautiful with lots of room for luggage. The common spaces are just for guests. The main floor has a large room with couch and chairs, a big fireplace (and TV) where you can chat and relax with a bottle of wine. The upstairs landing (outside the two queen rooms) has another common space with chairs and brochures/pamphlets if you're looking for something to do.

The hosts made us feel welcomed. A big basket of slippers sits by the door. The breakfast room has a gorgeous view of the property and surrounding farms. Breakfast was substantial and delicious. There is always a big pot of coffee going! Great care and detail is taken into making sure you feel comfortable and relaxed.

We selected this B&B because it was a short stagger from Hillebrand Winery. Our group went on a winery tour, had wine tastings and enjoyed a luxurious seven-course dinner at the Restaurant. Being this close to "home" meant no taxi or designated driver required.

Beside the Winery B&B is HIGHLY recommended! Be sure to ask the hosts about their travel adventures ;-)

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beside The Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside The Winery

Address: 1301 Niagara Stone Rd, RR#2, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside the Winery is next to Hillebrand Winery on a one acre lot. Spotless country setting with private entrance, guest lounge with satellite TV, fireplace, central air. King en-suite with private deck and 2 queen en-suites. A short 8 minutes takes you to the beautiful town of Niagara on the Lake and a 20 minute picturesque drive along the Niagara Parkway will take you to Niagara Falls. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beside The Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.