We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Lyons House

Save Saved
You added Historic Lyons House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Given all the five start reviews, I almost hate to give only four stars. However, my belief is that five stars should be reserved for only the rarest of experiences and that four starts is pretty darn good. Which is just what our experience was, pretty darn good.

The room and breakfast were excellent. Howie and Yolanta were gracious and very helpful with suggestions, recommendations and coupons to restaurants and wine tastings.

We stayed in the Master Bernard Room. One thing, which is more of a comment than a criticism, is that the master bath, which was large and beautiful with a shower and a jacuzzi tub, is separate from the bedroom. Thus it requires a short walk down the hall. The room does have an attached half bath as well, so going to the bathroom in the middle of the night does not require a trip down the hall.

Again, overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: The Master Bernard's Room has a great master bath with a jacuzzi, but it is located down the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
110
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Encino, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at the Lyons House. Breakfast was amazing and our host was very friendly and helped us plan our day in NOTL. Lyons House is just a few minutes walk to some great restaurants and shops. We chose the room with the jacuzzi bathroom which was nice. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this B&B with my husband while attending the Shaw Festival and we enjoyed our second stay as much as our first. The location is very convenient, being in easy walking distance to all the Festival theatres, as well as to some interesting shopping, local lakes, parks, historic locations and a golf course. The property is very well-maintained and the rooms are spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. Overall, the house is lovely, well-decorated and very welcoming. The breakfasts are delicious and well-presented, and the hosts couldn't be more genial or accommodating. When we are next in town, we plan to stay at Historic Lyons House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B and the host and hostess, Howie and Jolanta made us feel welcome. The B&B is beautifully decorated, I loved the art work. We were in the St. John room which was very comfortable. The seperate seating area was perfect for a moment of relaxing between seeing the town and enjoying the Shaw Festival plays. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, something new and tasty each morning. We enjoyed visiting with the Howie, Jolanta and the other house guests. Again, a wonderful B&B that we will visit again. Thank you for your hospitality. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hosts are very accommodating and warm hearted. Howie puts up a bold front of blasé, but he and Yoletta go out of their way to meet the guests needs. The B&B is stategically located to all of the town has to offer. It is a plesant walk to anywhere that you would want to go within the town of Niagra on the Lake or its environs. I highly recommend a relaxing stay at this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was a return trip for my husband and me, but our second experience was as delightful as our first. This B & B has a wonderful location for a short walk to downtown, theatres, pubs, and restaurants. The owners, Howie and Jola, go out of their way to make you feel welcome and help with reservations, trips to wineries and recommendations. The suites are beautiful and comfortable, the breakfasts are a daily delight and very plentiful and we enjoyed meeting new people each day. We spent five nights there on this trip and are anxious to return again next year. This is a beautiful property that is well cared for and well run. It is really worth the trip!!

Room Tip: Any of the three suites are great. The two we have stayed in are both beautiful and have a full ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The house and our room were tastefully decorated, and we enjoyed reading in the garden and liked the two beautiful cats. The hosts were knowledgeable and helpful, offering great recommendations and coupons for various attractions. The only thing I did not like was the folding bathroom door with glass upper panels, which did not offer enough privacy. However, overall an excellent B&B, with the best breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Lyons House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.