We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made us feel like we were part of their family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Lyons House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Lyons House to your Saves list
Historic Lyons House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Uxbridge, Canada
1 review
“They made us feel like we were part of their family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt wecolmed. The suite was very clean and quiet. The decor was great. Gave us a great feeling. Howard makes a great breakfast. They are great at organizing your day. We were unprepared, but Howard made sure we had a full day of activities. The location was excellent. Within walking distance of the main drag.

Room Tip: All rooms(3) were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
130
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was my first time at the Historic Lyons House and definitely no the last. Anything we needed was taken care of promptly. They gave suggestions as to where the best restaurants were, different attractions that we could go and see and directions on how to get there. The food was delicious! Big portions and an array of amazing food was served every morning.

They were also very accommodating. My husband has some mobility issues and requires a wheelchair for long distance traveling. They helped us get the wheelchair in and out of my car, and they brought it in during the night for us so I wouldn't have to carry it up the stairs (not a motorized wheelchair).

I would definitely recommend the Historic Lyons House to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I drove 7 hours from PA to Niagara-on-the-Lake for a wine tasting weekend with friends. Little did we know that we would have such a delightful weekend from beginning to end. We arrived late and were warmly greeted by the owner Howard who made sure we were comfortably settled after our long journey. The breakfasts were divine! Howard and Jolanta are warm, fun and gracious hosts. They were incredibly knowledgeable of the area and made excellent recommendations whether it be for a spa, dinner (food, atmosphere, service, decor)....... they are your own personal Zagat Guide for the Greater Niagara-on-the-Lake area.


The breakfasts are exquisite and the personal touches make you feel right at home....coffee just the way you like it.

The Lyon's House is nicely appointed, very clean and comfortably elegant.

We arrived tired and unfamiliar and left refreshed, relaxed and with a new set of friends. We will be back for sure, perhaps in the summer to enjoy the patio out back and lovely gardens.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Just returned from a second stay at Historic Lyons House. Last November, my partner, her parents and I spent the weekend at Historic Lyons House. None of us had been there before, but we knew leaving, we'd all return.

We did just that this past weekend -this time with other family.

Howard and Yolanta (Ruby and Happy too) put their hearts and passion into ensuring that your stay is nothing short of heaven.

3 very spacious guest rooms, all with private facilities. A beautiful main floor living room and dining area. The breakfast - is in itself worth the stay!

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Visting Niagara-on-the-Lake and stayed a saturday evening.
The house has plenty of charm, beautiful and spacious rooms, and a great common area.
The hosts, Jolanta and Howard, were most welcoming and served a fabulous breakfast.
You are literally steps away from the historic old town, which is a great plus.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

When we first entered the house, we were greeted by Howard and Jolanda, who were extremely hospitable the whole time we were there. Howard recommended us to a great restaurant and he even called the restaurant and placed a reservation for us. He also gave coupons to our spa treatment.
The breakfast was amazingly good, we had Eggs Benedict and pancakes with bacons. (yummy... thinking about it still makes me drool...)They also gave us a lesson on how to poach perfect eggs!!! Howard and Jolanda are great hosts, though we were only there for one night, it felt like we've known them for longer. We will definitely go back to them!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We secured this B&B via their website with no preconceived knowledge of what to expect. What we received was undoubtly the most warm and wonderful hospitality imaginable. Howard & Jolanta are the epitome of what innkeepers should aspire to be. We immediately felt at home. They gave us detailed advise to the local wineries, shops and restaurants often making reservations for us and/or providing us with maps & directions. The rooms were graciously appointed. The location was quiet with a quick 3-block walk to the center of town. Breakfast was superb. We will definately visit Niagara-on-the-Lake at least two more times this year and will stay at no other facility. We have not only found an extraordinary place to stay, we found very special new friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Lyons House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.