We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing, would not recommend!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mystery on the Lake - Interactive Theatre - CLOSED

Mystery on the Lake - Interactive Theatre
Veterans Lane, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
1-289-271-9804
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A new adventure in interactive theatre combines the rich history of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada with live improvisational theatre. This unique entertainment format is appropriately dubbed, “Theatre that ‘moves’ you!”, since participants travel between a variety of related outdoor venues. The MOTL experience is part amazing race, part scavenger hunt, part historical adventure, and part interactive theatre. Teams compete against the clock and each other as they are dispatched on an entertaining quest collecting clues, solving puzzles, and interacting with wacky character actors on this unique scavenger hunt as they discover historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Participants will travel about 1.7 km (1 mile) during the adventure with frequent stops. Customized show dates and times for groups are available."Theatre Express" performances are also available and provide a 'theatre where you are' indoor experience with customized themes within an interactive theatre format.
Bedford, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, would not recommend!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

After reading the other reviews (which I now highly question) we (3 couples) thought it sounded like fun. Well we started out with 18 people and when we left there were 6 people left so we were not the only ones who were disappointed. At the beginning our 1st encounter with an actor was cute but he soon left us and and we had to walk about a mile on our own, through Fort George which we never had a chance to learn about. At our second encounter at the farthest point in the Fort we were scolded for taking too long to get there.
Our husbands droped out after the fort but we gals soldiered on. We finally had enough when we were near the parking area just before the last encounter and the museum.This was not an historical tour and there is a lot of unstructured walking with no commentary or guidance. We would definately not recommend! NOTL is beautiful and there are many more worthwhile and less pricey ways to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gta Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice family outing. Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My wife and I were looking to spend Canada Day in a nice town away from some of the cheesier locations in Ontario. We decided on Niagara-on-the-Lake and when researching events online there, saw this "Mystery on the Lake" interactive theatre and decided to try it, with my teen daughter and mother-in-law. It was a lot of fun! We were all pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the enthusiasm that the actors brought to their parts. In addition to actually being part of the story, we got to enjoy the historical and picturesque locations that the story requires you to walk to. A nice day out for the family in a very pretty town. Recommended.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly entertaining, funny and a great way to meet other travelers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

What a great way to see the town and to meet other vacationers. There is a lot of walking, so wear comfortable shoes. It was pretty hot on the day we participated, so you may want to have a bottle of water with you. The actors were excellent; funny and entertaining. We'd recommend this to friends.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Roaring Good Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I spent the weekend in NOTL and decided to do the walking tour/ theater of Mystery on The Lake, The Secret of Butlersburg. Wow, we had an amazing afternoon! We were grouped with only nine other people and we had to work as a team to find clues and solve the mystery! We ended up with a really fun group that all interacted well together. The actors are found throughout the tour and the fun never stops!

This was well worth the money and a great way to spend the afternoon. The mystery tour took about 2 1/2 hours and be sure to wear your walking shoes! Refreshments were provided, and I'm sure this could take place rain or shine. Be ready for loads of laughs amongst your tour of the historic area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

A fun afternoon on a lovely day! My mother and I enjoyed ourselves very much yesterday, Friday, July 2nd at 1pm. The characters were great, and we loved the places we were sent on our search for keys and clues. It was well worth the time and money. Thank you to Trip Advisor for giving us the tip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystery on the Lake - Interactive Theatre also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystery on the Lake - Interactive Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.