We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING SERVICE AND ACCOMADATIONS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burke House

The Burke House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Burke House to your Saves list
The Burke House
94 Prideaux St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING SERVICE AND ACCOMADATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just a quick get away to the lovliest little town in Ontario - Niagara on the Lake. We stayed at the Burke House. Barbara, the innkeeper met us with big smiles and warmth. We immediately felt at home and were treated like family. The room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of this beautiful historic home. Breakfast was lovely - fresh fruit, waffles and pancakes with coffee. Barbara and her staff were ready to help in any way they could. They told us about local restaurants and events and made our stay one of the best mini vacations we've had. We have already booked another trip for December.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    8
    2
    9
See reviews for
12
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

What a wonderful,homey place. Barbara, the innkeeper is a hoot and made our stay very pleasant. Here is the negative, and this is not to be construed as a show stopper. Their are no toilitries in the room - no big deal but at $200 a night come on - the breakfast was delicious and ample - but do I need dessert before dinner? There location is terrific and Yes I would say stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCharles9494, Owner at The Burke House, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to note your comments. We do supply each room with, soap and a conditioning shampoo.... you may have missed seeing it sorry. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast, we are constantly reviewing our customers requests and diets. Some guests like a little sweetness after breakfast. You always have the option to pass up on it.

Again thanks for taking the time. Barbara, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The location was wonderful, literally steps from all the shops on Queens St but still peaceful and quiet, exactly what you want in NOTL. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating. I have a particularly difficult diet, but they were able to accommodate me for breakfast every day, and the breakfasts were good. The room was pleasant for the most part, though not exceptional. The only negative points I would add are the pillows and the bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were horrible. The bathroom was just old, not dirty, just maybe a little passed its useful life.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great stay at The Burke House - great room, great food and great host. Thoroughly enjoyed visiting with other guests at breakfast. The host was very helpful and pleasant. We will definitely be back.
Pat and Jim

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great historical house, classic interior design, bathtub in the bedroom. We loved it. At -20 in January it was a bit difficult to heat the room to comfort level, the hallway was warmer than the room, but we managed it. The atmosphere is awesome, the host Diane is very friendly and helpful. Homemade breakfast made by herself. She even made us a banana bread for on the way and helped us arrange a wine tour. Very nice place, awesome host. You should try it, when you are around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Diane was our host while we stayed. She was very gracious and worked hard to see to all our needs. You can't ask for a better location. It is only one block from the Main St,, 2 blocks from the water, right by the theatre. You can walk to anything in Niagara on the Lake's main area. The bed was very comfortable. There was lots of space to move around our room. We just wish there had been a comfortable place to sit in our room. The breakfast was great and plentiful really only needed a snack for lunch. The dining room and living room were really nice and inviting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mr. Hughes room. We really liked it because it had a private bathroom and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great location, 2 blocks to downtown shopping and restaurants. Cute little house. Needs a little work. They made good use of small spaces. The soaking tub was nice. The breakfast was excellent.

No service to speak of. Not much in the way of toiletries. Just soap and shampoo. I expect a little more in a B&B. Furnace was blazing all night. The thermostat didn't work. We called the number that was in the instructions and left several messages but never heard back. In the morning the chef said he had the same problem and was calling to see if someone could fix it. No one to check us out or to interact with. The bed was hard as a rock and small. It really was just like sleeping in a guest room, not like being a guest in someone's home. In the morning there were biting flies at breakfast and then they showed up in our bathroom. No one really cares. You just get the bill and that's it. There are a lot of B&Bs the choose from. I wouldn't pick this one ever again.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burke House

Address: 94 Prideaux St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Burke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.