We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in the Vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cattail Creek Winery

Cattail Creek Winery
R.R. #4, 1156 Concession 6,, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-988-9463
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Cattail Creek Estate Winery is the cumulation of three generations of grape growing in Niagara on the Lake. Born from a passion for growing quality grapes and making great wines, Cattail Creek focuses on producing hand crafted wines.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place needs to advertise more!

We come to this region frequently but our discovery of this winery was more by luck than by design.

We read about a neat experience they offer, the "Picnic in the Vineyard" so we arrived, picked our picnic lunch from a menu, selected a delicious Reisling and proceeded out to one of the vine rows and waited.

After just a few minutes the staff member appeared with our basket, full of fresh bread, delicious anitpasto, along with out selected meats and cheeses. These were not grocery store variety items either, the double-cream brie was among the best I've had anywhere, and the asiago was not far behind.

What an amazing experience, sitting in a vineyard, on a blanket, enjoying delicious food, drinking a fine bottle of wine. I strongly recommend it. Think of it as Tuscany withouy the airfare!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great staff and great wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that Cattail Creek makes my favourite off-dry Riesling. There hasn't been a year that it hasn't been delicious! This wine isn't available in the LCBO so if you like it like we do be sure to pick up a few more bottles then you normally would or be prepare to order it.

We were celebrating a milestone birthday for my husband and planned our own wine tours. We planned to stop at about 8 different vineyards during the day with Cattail Creek being one of the stops. We stopped there to have lunch as well and they really kindly moved the picnic tables under the cover they have on the porch and did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and at home. Everyone had an amazing time and loved the wine!! There wasn't a single person in our group of ten that didn't leave without at least a couple bottles of their wine.

To summarize, the wine is delicious and the people are fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Got there at 4:55p, five minutes before closing(which we were unaware of) and were turned away.
Would have appreciated a little better customer service as a Limo was leaving the parking lot as we were turned away.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Meatballs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were here in May as part of the Wine and Herb Festival and they were sampling their Gamay Noir with a deliciou dill meatball. My boyfriend liked it so much that we asked for the recipe. It took a few weeks, but they sent it!

Overall, we really enjoyed our few minutes here!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As part of a family wine tour, we stopped here. We had made previous arrangements to have a little tour of the place and tastings of the wine. Wendy, the woman that lead the tour was very nice. She was friendly and informative. It was a small place so it got kind of crammed in there with many tours at once. It was good up until one of the workers was really rude to some of the people in our group. There had been food being served as part of this passport thing where you went around to different wineries and tasted different dishes. Our group didn't know we needed a passport so some of us lined up to get some food. The woman working there was very rude and short with us. She told we had to have a pass. Didn't apologize, didn't say "however, you can purchase one here or there". She was very rude about it and I think she should be spoken to. This instance could have been avoided. Other than that it was pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattail Creek Winery also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Cattail Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattail Creek Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cattail Creek Winery to your Saves list