We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cape House B&B to your Saves list
Cape House B&B
1895 Lakeshore Road RR#3, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Booking 10% Off
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed one night in the Reisling room, lovely 4 poster bed ( no coverings, just the posts. Room was spotlessly clean and hostess very welcoming. Pleasant lounge and siting room with tea and coffee, great decking area if we had been staying longer.
Breakfast freshly cooked to order after a great spread of cereal and fruit.
Really nice place,I would not hesitate to return if we came back to Niagra on the Lake.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
135
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We live in the US and met our Canadian relatives who found this wonderful establishment. From the minute of our arrival we were treated wonderfully by our hosts Phyllis and John. They gave us a complete tour of the house and grounds which were both beautiful. Everything was immaculate. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, the "Merlot". The room was larger than most hotels we have stayed at. The bathroom was huge and modern and the room had all the conveniences one would expect at a 5 star hotel. A flashlight was even provided for a safe, late night walk. The upstairs had a guest lounge equipped with snacks, wine glasses, water, tea and a refrigerator to keep things cold. Breakfast was great and the hosts were pleasant, friendly, and knowledgeable of the area. Thanks for a great weekend! Sharon and Jeff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I live in Toronto. We have cousins in Rochester NY. We wanted to spend a weekend together and decided to meet half way in Niagara on the Lake, We booked two plays at the Shaw Festival and needed a suitable place to stay overnight. Cape House turned out to be the perfect choice. They had two beautiful rooms available for us. One cousin is highly allergic. So the no smoking and no pet rule was ideal. Moreover the place was immaculate. The hosts were friendly and quite helpful with their recommendations. There was a lovely sitting room where we could relax and catch up on family news. The breakfast was perfect and we got to meet another interesting couple and share some experiences. Combined with perfect weather and two great plays, this was an ideal weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Traveled with two other couples - so being a three bedroom B&B it was perfect for us. We had the place to ourselves. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the bed and linens were lovely. The breakfasts were ok - the second day much better than the first. They have a lovely outdoor area - but unfortunately for us it rained so we could not enjoy it. It's a bit far to walk downtown or to the theatre unless you are into walking. I would recommend this place especially if you are a group of three couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

John and Phyllis were excellent hosts. They were very helpful at providing info on Niagara on the Lake and have done a nice job decorating the bed and breakfast and preparing our morning breakfasts. They are very interesting people with many life experiences. Thanks for a wonderful weekend. Lindsay and Dave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Niagara on the Lake for a biking Wine Tour and were looking at hotels which were just SO expensive so we decided to look into B & B... never having stayed at one myself we found one that lets you book for 1 night only which is what we needed. A lot of the B& B's are 2 night stay minimum but we only planned to go for one night so it was nice to see that we could book it.
Once we got there we were greeted with open arms, they even said my name right and having a unique name with people always calling me Carolyn or Carly... it made me so happy that they didn’t mispronounce my name. I know it sounds silly but hey.
They gave us a tour of the place and it felt like we were home. The bed by the way is the most COMFORTABLE bed ever.... we didn’t even want to get up to go out for dinner.
We loved the area and how it was SO close to our bike rentals. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Cape House B&B while in Niagara on the Lake for a biking winery tour. Being a newcomer to the Bed and Breakfast world, my expectations were greatly surpassed with the warmth of Phyllis and John as hosts, the cleanliness of the house and the tasteful decoration.
After arriving earlier than our designated check-in time, John and Phyllis were accommodating, offering us advice on their favourite wineries and restaurants, checking us in early, and touring the house.
The house itself is lovely. The room we stayed in (the Gamay Room) large and clean, the bed incredibly comfortable. An upstairs sitting room was stocked with wine glasses, a refrigerator, bottled water and snacks- a much appreciated amenity after a long day of exercise in the sunshine.
Breakfast after a full night's sleep was delicious- Greek yogurt, local peaches, homemade granola, sausage strata, homemade croissants, strong coffee and fresh orange juice, all served on cute, mismatched china.
Overall, our stay at Cape House Bed and Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend it to any of my friends or acquaintances. John and Phyllis are a lovely couple, operating their business in a warm, professional manner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape House B&B

Address: 1895 Lakeshore Road RR#3, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape House is a beautiful and romantic Cape Cod style home, decorated with casual elegance and situated directly on the wine route in Old Town Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cape House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.