We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cape House B&B to your Saves list
Cape House B&B
1895 Lakeshore Road RR#3, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Winner of Award
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Cape House August 19-21st. We went to Niagra on the Lake for our 30th wedding anniversary. John and Phyllis were so helpful with planning our day and giving suggestions for wineries to visit and restaurants in the area. The bed and breakfast is beautifully decorated, the bedroom was roomy, spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. John and Phyllis even treated us to some wine to celebrate our anniversary. We have stayed at many b&b's and this was the best we have ever experienced. I forgot to mention that the breakfast was fantastic too! Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Glad you had such a pleasant time with us. We are delighted to make a fuss over guests who are celebrating a special occasion. As for helping our guests to plan their day, we feel that this is important to the quality of the guest experience. So, we work hard to inform ourselves about a range of interesting attractions as well as about the restaurants and wineries that our previous guests have enjoyed. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The first thing that strikes you when you arrive is that these people really care about you and want to make sure you enjoy every aspect of your visit. Then you see your room -- the most immaculately clean room I can ever remember seeing. (I get so tired in staying in carpeted chain hotels when I don't know what's living in the rug under me. Not here -- you could eat off these well -kept wooden floors.) The rooms are spacious; the washrooms squeaky clean; and despite it being a two-storey house, you don't hear your neighbours until you share a wonderful breakfast with them.
The facility is quite new and is in absolute mint condition. There are comfy seating areas both inside and in the lush, quiet backyard. When you come back from a hard day of touring and wine tasting, there are plenty of glasses, ice, and cold water to help you refresh.
The B&B is located in a quieter part of town but you really need a car to get to the main street. It's about a 5 minute drive.
Phyllis and John have a ton of information on where to go. From the moment I made my reservation, I was receiving helpful tips. Phyllis has a secret treasure chest of wine-tasting coupons that she dispenses along with her prescription for a great day.
And at no extra cost, you get to me other discriminating visitors to the region and share their experiences.
I never felt so much at home while travelling!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've stayed with John and Phyllis for the past two years and each stay has more than exceeded our expectations. They are more than happy to go the extra mile for their guests, to accommodating an early check-in or to finding out information on border crossing or customs. They have made the B&B feel like your home away from home - only with far better breakfasts. This B&B is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We were delighted to welcome you back for our second season. It was no trouble to help you with information on border crossing delays and the US Customs treatment of Niagara fruit that you wished to take home. We hope we will have the pleasure of your company again next year for our third season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Phyllis and John run an exceptionally fine B&B. In past years we stayed at other B&Bs before the Cape House opened, and the Cape House is now at the top of our list. John and Phyllis make your stay feel like you are truly at home, but without the cooking and cleaning.The Cape House is like new in every respect, and clean beyond description. Our room was lovely, and the breakfasts were imaginative and far better than we would have hoped for. This is a wonderful place to stay and is just a five to ten minute bike ride to all of the Shaw Festival Theaters. AAA+++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very clean, nicely decorated, great upstairs sitting area, nice outdoor lounging spaces...wonderful hosts. The grounds are well cared for and there were beautiful fresh flowers in the living room. Breakfasts were delicious and filling. Our hosts also offered additional snacks, water, glassware, refrigerator use and ice. We were offered coupons for local attractions and recommendations for restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. Our guests often note how enjoyable they have found both our indoor lounges and last fall's addition of a pergola covered deck exclusively dedicated to our guests. And, as you mention, we are pleased to provide glasses, ice and snacks wherever guests may wish to relax. We will be delighted to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a fantastic stay with Phyllis & John. They are superb hosts. Nothing seems too much trouble and they made us feel really at home. Our room and the other residents lounge areas were spacious and very comfortable. The.breakfast sets you up for the day.
If (when) we return to Niagara on the Lake, we would not think of staying anywhere else. A great place which we wholeheartedly recommend.

Eva & Roger Everitt
Egton
North Yorkshire
England

Room Tip: All the rooms are super - any and all are a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Cape House was all we could ask for....clean, great room, exceptional breakfasts, and wonderful hosts. The location was perfect for our biking on the Niagara Parkway and along the Welland Canal. Breakfast at 8:30 AM daily was perfect for allowing us to enjoy breakfast, yet arrive on the trails at a reasonable time. We had easy access to the town, and the location is only 2 blocks from a park where viewing the sunsets over Lake Ontario completes another fantastic day. We will return, and are pleased to recommend.

Room Tip: All three rooms are great....you can't go wrong. There is also a comfortable sitting room upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape_House_bb, Owner at Cape House B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It has been a goal of ours to go the extra mile to accommodate those guests who will be cycling in the area. We are located just a short walk from a bike rental shop. We provide secure bike storage and even the loan of back packs for those guests who plan on visiting the local wineries and may want to purchase some wine. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape House B&B

Address: 1895 Lakeshore Road RR#3, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape House is a beautiful and romantic Cape Cod style home, decorated with casual elegance and situated directly on the wine route in Old Town Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cape House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.