We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Winery Restaurant

The Old Winery Restaurant
2228 Niagara Stone Road, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
905-468-8900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Six of us went to the Old Winery for dinner this past Saturday night. Out of 6 dinners ,six people thought the food was very good , the pricing excellent and the service god but not great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    164
    57
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St.Ann's
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Over priced and small dishes, will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

pricey for what you get, I was disappointed, left hungry. They were out of most dishes and we had to settle for what was left. In hind site, we should have gone else where.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a Rehearsal dinner with 20 people at Old Winery about a month ago. They food was very good, service good and staff attentive.An enjoyable evening. Had room at back of restaurant which is reserved for large groups but still convenient for bar and kitchen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst Meal Ever!! Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stay away! My wife and I went to The Old Winery for dinner. Restaurant looks very nice inside and outside but the food was quit possibly the worst thing we have ever tasted. we ordered the chorizo sausage with polenta as well as rainbow trout. The sausage was burnt to a crisp and the polenta tasted like it was sitting out all day. Trout was under cooked with flavor. I have no clue how the chef allowed it out o the kitchen.
Spend the money on a restaurant that is more deserving. Will never return.....EVER!
I feel like I am going to barf just thinking about it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service and ambience very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I went for lunch on a Sunday @ 1:30 after prime time. I recognized the owner as we arrived who walked right past us without acknowledging our arrival. About a minute later a waitress arrived to greet us and show us to a table. The brown paper "cloth" is tacky and not keeping with the cloth napkins. Wine list seems quite over-priced. 9 oz. glasses of wine were $18-$23 and not particularly noteworthy. I wouldn't recommend the bruschetta if having pizza as the crusts are the same - just feels like a different pizza. The food took 20 minutes to come which seemed like a lot for an appetizer. The dining room is always drafty by the windows as vents blow down from the ceiling and can blow right down your neck. As reflected by the owner's attitude toward customer service, staff are so-so in the friendliness category.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Winery Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Old Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Winery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.