We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niagara Wine Tours International

Niagara Wine Tours International
92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Decant yourself in Niagara's Wine County, Canada's Top Wine & Culinary Destination! Whether a weekend getaway, conference or corporate event, our commitment to provide unique experiences taking our customers "off the beaten path" creates memories that last a lifetime! Niagara Wine Tours International is Niagara's original and largest tour company providing wine country experiences for individuals and corporations since 1992. Our Sip'n Cycle tours offer guests unique experiences, celebrating Niagara's bounty; VQA wines, culinary, heritage, viticulture all wrapped in our hospitability, fun and leisurely paced, suited for cycling and wine enthusiasts from the novice to advanced alike! Enjoy unique morning, afternoon, lunch or dinner tours by bicycle, passenger van, coach, Double Decker bus or private luxury sedan, with local, professional tour guides we providing the highest level of service and customer satisfaction!
Burton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We took the Adventure Wine tour with Brian Dunham. He picked us up promptly at our B&B. He took us around to many winneries in the area. He was very polite and professional. He answered all questions we had about the winery we were visiting and he was very knowledgeable about the Niagara-on-the-Lake area. Next time we will surely go on a Niagara Wine tour International and ask for Brian to be our guide.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    15
    3
    2
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“False Advertising - Niagara Wine Tours International Cycling Tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

You be the judge ... .. .

Quote from the website:
"Suitable for all levels of ability, the pace is one of leisure and fun. Join us for a guided tour along beautiful country lanes and one of the finest bicycle trails to the local Niagara-on-the-Lake wineries.

An experienced local guide will provide interesting and unique insights into Niagara Wine Country on your visit to four charming boutique wineries famous for their international award winning wineries. Wineries visited may include Jackson-Triggs Niagara Estate Winery for a full tour revealing the latest in modern winemaking technology and a tasting of their premium wines; Marynissen Estates Winery, a small family boutique winery with Canada’s oldest Cabernet Sauvignon vines; Lailey Vineyard, for a tasting of the exclusively estate-grown premium wines, with the winemaker; Strewn, producer of award winning premium VQA wines with Canada’s only winery cooking school and superb restaurant; Inniskillin Wines, one of the industry’s original pioneers, and producer of some of the world’s finest wines; Caroline Cellars for an opportunity to taste handcrafted icewines ; Dom Vagner, Canada’s smallest winery; and Reif Winery, which has a winemaking history dating back 360 years.

The tour includes a wonderful, country picnic lunch in a marquis in a private vineyard."

The guide's name was Gus. Our tour was late to start as Gus had to pump up the tires on several bicycles. I guess it is not part of the job description of the girls in the storefront who match participants with bicycles? Then it was a mad dash to our first winery. Not exactly leisurely and fun suitable for all levels of ability !!

Our "full tour revealing the latest in modern winemaking technology" consisted of touring Lailey Vineyard. A quick visit to the vineyard then escorted through a large room to their wine cellar. In that room we observed three employees busy filling bottles six at a time and then manually corking each individual bottle. Apparently that's the latest in modern technology ??

Next we stopped at Kurtz Orchards for a delicious picnic lunch. Highly recommend Kurtz however we were not "in a marquis in a private vineyard" . It was here that Gus pressured one of the female participants in our group to quit and turn back :-(

We visited Lailey, Caroline Cellars, Marynissen Estates Winery, and Reif Winery. Especially enjoyed the ice wine.

I could never recommend this company for a bike tour. Suggest instead you rent a bicycle ($35), grab a map and plan your own route. Include Inniskillin Winery ... for $5.00 you can tour their modern winery plus taste four wines. Plan to stop at Kurtz Orchards $12.95 for a delicious picnic lunch. The money you save can be spent buying more wine :-)

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Great Day in Wine Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I was a little concerned about disorganization when the trip began. Our guide, Gus, thought he was taking us on a bike tour. However when he realized it was a wine tour he switched into wine mode pretty quickly. He was a terrific host, very knowledgable about the wineries and the local terroir. The day turned out to be very enjoyable with visits to a number of small wineries on the Niagara Bench. Take a camera as the views are impressive and be prepared for about 4 to 5 hours. You should also pace yourself with the wine tasting or you will be in the bag when you return to the hotel.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - Not what we expected - particularly Bike tour guide, John”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our group of four couples did the morning bike trip, and had one other couple join our tour-- guided by John. When we checked in, the gal told us we'd be provided with water and a small snack at a stop along the way. Before we left on our bikes, we asked John about the water, so he went and got it (he apparently never thought to get it for us). We never did have a snack. We left and first stopped at a nearby park where John gave us info about the park, which was nice. From that point on, John never stopped or talked to any of us. He was very far ahead of the majority of us on the tour. He would stop at a corner and wait for a half the group to catch up, but would take off again before the rest of the group arrived. The people in the back, never had a moment to stop and catch their breath until we stopped at a winery.
On the way back after the final winery stop, John was so far ahead of our group that we had one person ride ahead and position himself halfway between John and our group so we keep him in our sight and could figure out where we were to go and not get lost. In fact at one point, one person in the group had their bike chain break. We had to send someone ahead and yell for John to come back and assist (we actually had to fix it ourselves before he finally came back).
We all expected a nice leisurely ride through this beautiful countryside, stopping at wineries on our way. We expected that the tour guide would give us some info along the way. This was definitely not the case. John was in a hurry to get back and never interacted with us from the start.
That said, however, we loved every winery we went to. The people at each were fantastic.

But we could never recommend this company for this bike tour.. particularly our tour guide.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland Ontario Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic, well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I would just like to say how much our small group (4) enjoyed our tour on October 13th,
our tour guide Brian Dunham was excellent, very knowledgable about the area
and what was happening around the area. He was very friendly, courtious and helpful,
The wineries we visited were:
Pondview - absolutely great, the best one of the day
Strewn - very good, and the meal at Terroir La Cachette excellent, with great service
Lailey - great tour
Caroline Cellars - the most disappointing, did not like any of their wines
Rancourt - good

we would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Brian and your tour company.

Thanks also to your office staff again very friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Wine Tours International also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Niagara Wine Tours International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niagara Wine Tours International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.