We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarula House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarula House
Save
You added Amarula House to your Saves list
79 Johnson Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Perfect location for all amenities shops, theatre, restaurants, wineries and driving to see Niagara Falls. All rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable and all have a private bathroom. Fabulous breakfasts best we've had, better than any big hotel we have been to around the world. Lynette's knowledge of the area was good for letting us know where to visit and where to go to eat she really looked after us and for these reasons we would definitely go back to the Amarula Mike and Doreen Scotland September visit

Room Tip: Well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Amarula house is a comfortable, welcoming base for exploring idyllic Niagara-on-the-lake. All three of the guest rooms have large comfortable beds, private baths. Lynette's gourmet breakfasts are so generous, you may not need lunch! We relied on her travel advice and recommendations. And the location simply can't be beat - just steps off the main street, with wonderful restaurants, shopping, and beautiful parks by the lake all a short stroll away (but far enough that it is QUIET!) Park the car, for free, and walk and relax. I've stayed in quite a few B&Bs, and my experiences have almost always been wonderful, but I will say that Lynette's great sense of humour and willingness to go the extra mile for her guests made our three day stay during our 1-year wedding anniversary a real joy. Now that we've gushed, I just hope we can get a room next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the water buffalo and leopard rooms and loved both. All the rooms are large, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Small B&B in a great location, convenient to downtown and all theatres, but quiet. The African-themed decor is attractive and interesting (the hostess is originally from South Africa). The Zebra room, where we stayed, was comfortable, with a nice bathroom and a separate outside entrance. Breakfasts were tasty with generous portions and lots of home-baked pastries and breads.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this bed and breakfast in Niagara on the Lake. The rooms/bathrooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfasts were delicious, and the hostess was helpful with sightseeing suggestions. I would definitely choose this B&B again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were introduced to Lyn and Dean by previous owners of this property. We've been coming here ever since they opened. Can't even remember how many times we've returned. This is truly our home away from home. Every time we come and think of buying something for ourselves to come to we decide against buying as there is no need as long as Lyn and Dean tolerate us (some of our visits are so long that it feels like this is our house...). We absolutely love coming and if not for our crazy schedule we would be there a lot more. The most accommodating hosts we've ever met, truly feel like a family (or better ;-). Breakfasts are unbelievably tasty and nutritious. The very best beds in town! Location can't be better and the pool to top it up! Absolutely #1 for us and we are not easy to please for variety of reasons. We are very thankful to have a place of escape and wish we could come more...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

On a quiet street very close to theaters, Amarula House is a gem. The rooms are lovely and always spotless and the breakfasts are beautiful and plentiful, full of home-baked extras. There is a lovely pool behind the house for guest use. The host couple is remarkably warm and interesting, ready to offer helpful information. Our first choice in Niagara-on-the-Lake!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Never having been to a B&B before I did alot of research and was a bit unsure of what to expect. After finding Amarula House and speaking to Lyn (the owner) we booked and it was absolutely wonderful. The home is in a perfect location, 1 block from the main street. The rooms were comfortable and all recently and beautifully redone. The breakfast was delicious. Lyn was super hospitable and made our first stay at a B&B so enjoyable. Thank you Lyn.
We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarula House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarula House

Address: 79 Johnson Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarula House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.