We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true blessing in Niagara on the Lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Toscana di Carlotta

Save Saved
You added La Toscana di Carlotta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Toscana di Carlotta
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A true blessing in Niagara on the Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

First of all, the welcome is that of coming "home"; Carlotta and Chaz are gracious, knowledgeable, and brilliant at making each guest be special and comfortable. Having personally visited Florence a number of times, I can only say that La Toscana di Carlotta is the next best thing to being there. The breakfasts are traditionally Florentine and beautifully served; the only problem being that it is almost too much to eat at one time. One of the last breakfasts we had we lingered at the table over coffees until after 10:00. The location of the B & B is perfect for theatre lovers, wine lovers, shopping lovers, and just plain lovers. We cannot recommend this exquisite B & B too highly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
255
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Carlotta & Kash as well as Mama are the ultimate B & B hosts. Their warm welcome, their extra effort, superb amazing to-die-for breakfasts; fresh fruit, yogurt, tiny spinach crepes with bechamel sauce, crotinis all add up to a perfect stay. We loved the peace and tranquility of the home as well as the hints on places to check out in the area.
We would not hesitate to recommend La Toscana di Carlotta to any of our friends. In fact, I shouldn't be handing out accolades as it is the best kept secret in Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed overnight at La Toscana with a party of three (2 adults and one 12 year-old). Everything was great. Carlotta and Kash are exceptionally nice people and try to do everything to make your stay special. When it comes to B&Bs -- only three things matter: the location, the hosts, and the breakfast. The location is ideal. The hosts are wonderful. And the breakfast... wow, what a breakfast! We have stayed at B&Bs pretty well everywhere in the Northeast US and Canada and Europe. But this breakfast was by far our all-time favorite. Enjoy your stay. We certainly did.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I had a terrific 3-night getaway in Niagara on the Lake in October. It was our first time there, but certainly not our last - it was wonderful! This was in great part due to our B&B, La Toscana di Carlotta. We were so happy to have chosen this property to stay at.

It is a historic home, just steps away from Queen St., with many restaurants and nice shops. The B&B has only 3 rooms, so the service is very personal. Our room, the Medici, was beautifully decorated in blue and yellow, and had a very nice bathroom with walk-in shower. The room also had a Keurig mini brewer with coffee and tea selections, as well as bottled water. There was a small community refrigerator right outside the rooms, with a sink and glassware for everyone to use if they needed. The other 2 rooms have a balcony, but ours did not. However, we felt it was very special, because it had lots of windows to let the light in, and it’s a bit set off from the other two. The room was also very quiet; I had the best night’s sleep in months here!

I could go on about how nice the rooms were, but what makes La Toscana even more special are the owners, Carlotta and Cash. They are the nicest, sweetest people you could ever meet. They have thought of everything in making their guests feel at home. The breakfast that Carlotta prepares each morning is amazing. Every time you think it’s finished, the food just keeps on coming: juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, assorted crostinis, eggs, dessert and cappuccino. Delicious! And their dog, Maya, is the sweetest you will ever meet!

We didn’t have a huge agenda for this trip, as we mostly were looking to relax. We did spend a nice couple hours one afternoon in the sitting area of the B&B just enjoying some wine, cheese and salami, and chatting with Carlotta. We took a drive to Niagara Falls, and also took a winery tour at Reif Winery, just a few minutes down the street from the B&B.

We ate several times at The Irish Harp Pub right across the street from La Carlotta. It's literally a 30 second walk, and we loved their menu and the service. We ended up going back again and again. If you go there, you must try the lemon curd cheesecake with raspberry and chocolate tartuffo for dessert. It was absolutely wonderful and worth every penny. We’re still talking about it!

If you're looking for a romantic getaway, Niagara on the Lake is a great place to go. If you do, please stay with Carlotta and Cash - they are such wonderful people! You will not be disappointed. We're planning a return trip this Spring, and will defintely stay there again.

Room Tip: Medici room doesn't have a balcony, but has lots of windows, and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We recently stayed at this wonderful B&B. The location is perfect and is close to everything. The hosts (Carlotta and Kash) are extremely kind, helpful and warm people. The accommodation is clean and well maintained. The room (Brunelleschi) was spacious and had lots of thoughtful touches. The breakfast is BIG and one of the best we have had in the area.

We highly recommend this B&B and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We've stayed here on both of our visits to Niagara on the Lake and have thorougthly enjoyed our stays. Carlotta, Kash and Mama are such gracious hosts and Maya is a sweet treasure. The house is elegant and comfortable and the balcony and seating in the lovely yard lets us enjoy lunch or an afternoon refreshment outside. All very relaxing. The breakfasts are unbelievably good--other B&Bs anywhere have not even come close. Wonderful! We'll surely be back again!

Eileen and Terry

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at La Toscana di Carlotta. This stay was just as wonderful as the first. The food is delicious, the home is warm and inviting, and the hosts couldn't have been more accommodating. We were three couples, and Kash and Carlotta made us feel like family, just like the last time. We sat in the living room with the fireplace blazing, and loved talking to our hosts. We will definitely be going back again for our third visit.

Room Tip: All three of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Toscana di Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toscana di Carlotta

Address: 255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Toscana di Carlotta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Toscana di Carlotta is a Tuscan-themed B&B in the historic Burns House (Circa 1818) in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake. Enjoy fine Tuscany linen, bath amenities from Chianti, hearty Tuscany breakfast in original Faenza crockery on our front porch; enjoy fresh squeezed fruit juice, crostini, frittata (or Italian deli meats), home-made tort and cappuccinos galore. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, private balcony, coffee maker, flat panel TV, Wi-Fi and individual A/C units (fireplaces in the winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your La Toscana di Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Toscana di Carlotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.