We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, clean, comfortable, relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellar House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kellar House to your Saves list
Kellar House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   90 Mary St | PO Box 1962, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great find, clean, comfortable, relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked this based on availability and Tripadvisor reviews for a two night break for my birthday. Had a little trouble finding it. In a lovely location a short walk from the Main Street of NOTL.
We only met one of the proprietors, friendly, non intrusive and polite.
The room was lovely, nicely decorated, extremely clean and tidy, the owners have thought of everything for your comfort, DVD selection, coffee maker, fresh orange juice in fridge. The breakfast is delivered to your room promptly at 9am, fresh and tasty.
You have a private entrance and balcony, a mini kitchenette in room, use of a microwave, a spa bath and fireplace in room (which sadly we didn't get time to use, an excuse to return!), the bed is comfortable, in fact the whole room is comfortable.
Recommended, would definitely stay here again.
Unfortunately I had no pen to write in the guest book so if you're reading this, we had a lovely stay, thanks so much for your hospitality! :)

Room Tip: Only two rooms, we stayed in the Red which was lovely, located at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay very much at Kellar House. It exceeded all our expectations and more. Having a delicious gourmet breakfast brought to our rooms every morning was the best way to start each day. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. They gave use some excellent recommendations on where to eat, wineries to visit and awesome trails to check out. We loved our room. The bed was a king and very comfy. The Jacuzzi was really nice especially after a long day of activity. We loved the quiet self controlled A/C as some of the days were really hot. We really liked that this was not the traditional style of B&B as we preferred our own privacy. Having our own private entrance so we could go and come as we please was very convenient. We will recommend this to our friends and will hopefully return soon again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kellar House for our anniversary weekend. Our room was large with jacuzzi for two and a shower. Having a mini fridge in the room was a lovely touch; it kept the wine quite chilled. Breakfast surpassed all our expectations! Each day was a different delight. Waffles, quiche, breakfast pannini and ,on our last day, crepes! With fresh baked scones or banana bread, it was a five star experience! We enjoyed our stay so much we were raving about it before we left to anyone who asked. And a few who didn't! We highly recommend the Kellar House for any stay in the Niagara area. (Ignore rating for pool, there was none, but had trouble removing. Lol)

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely and share a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently spent a couple nights at the Kellar House and had a wonderful time. The location is great; in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of downtown. The hosts are wonderful and the breakfasts were fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, quiet get away. We will likely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Kellar house. It certainly surpassed our expectations. Between the delicious breakfasts brought to your room, the Kellar house has everything you need to create one of the best vacations of your life.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was great! Tastefully decorated (romantic actually with its fireplace above the spa tub), super clean, everything you need mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. and the most delectable breakfasts ever.
The driving distance to everything was great. However I did walk to the town centre a couple of times and did find it a bit far on foot.
The owners of the B&B were wonderful and went out of their way to help us any way they could. Great place!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We found this gem of a B&B on a last minute getaway and were pleasantly surprised. First of all Niagara on The Lake is one of the best areas we have visited. The old town is so charming and the trails scenic. But getting back to this lovely B&B. The owner were very friendly and helpful. They made our stay all the better. The breakfast was amazing!. The best crepes we've ever had and such tasty breakfast wraps. Best of all it was brought to our rooms each morning. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The decor modern and very romantic. We loved the fireplace by the jacuzzi. It made for a wonderful relaxing time. We can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellar House

Address: 90 Mary St | PO Box 1962, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kellar House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kellar House Bed And Breakfast Offers Guests Elegant Accommodations with an Emphasis On Romance and The Privacy of a Hotel. The perfect B&B for celebrating any occasion. Each suites offers Separate and Private Guest Entrances. Beautiful Jacuzzi Tub for Two. Romantic thermostat controlled Gas Fireplace. Comfortable King Size Bed. Quiet In room self controlled ductless air conditioning. Hot Delicious Breakfast provided in the privacy of your room. 32 inch LCD TV with cable, DVD movies and wireless internet.Full private, ensuite bath with plush bathrobes.In room Kitchenette with fridge, coffee maker, toaster, microwave.Outdoor deck for lounging.Just a 10 minute walk to Downtown Queen Street. Drive or walk to all the nearby Shaw Festival theaters, World renown Wineries and Vineyards, Top rated hiking and bike trails or take a spectacular horse drawn carriage ride through Canada's prettiest town. For added excitement Niagara Falls Main Attractions are only a 30 minute drive from here. Whatever your plans your Hosts, Rhonda and Ed will do their best to ensure that your stay will be comfortable as well as memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kellar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.