We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haute cuisine?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zees Grill

Zees Grill
92 Picton Street | Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
905-468-5715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zees Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Contemporary, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Zees Grill at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is Niagara-on-the-Lake's newest hot spot, featuring classic nostalgic food updated with a whimsical twist. Across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and with the largest patio in Niagara, every detail of this exciting new restaurant will surely tickle your senses and tantalize your taste buds. Our award-winning chef has created an array of dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive. At Zees, fine dining meets fun dining.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Haute cuisine?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Ambitious menu with plus minus results. Pricing is as creative as the menu offerings. Service is excellent. If you go during good weather, sitting outside is lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    503
    181
    80
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I would have given this 4 stars if the service was better. Our server had a nice personality, but we felt ignored several times.

I had the duck confit and it was pretty good. My wife had the lobster putine and raved about it for an hour.

It was very nice to dine on their wrap around porch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Vegan and Non-Vegan meals. Great for gluten free accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just couple of weeks ago we were in Niagara-on-the-Lake again and finally got to the end of the street to have dinner at Zees Grill. We attempted to come in without reservation before but the wait was little long as this is a popular place being just steps away from the main theatre. This time we were fortunate to get a spot outside and we really enjoyed our meal like never before. I had an amazing Vegan Japanese “Bento” dinner, can’t wait to have it again in a few weeks and my husband had chicken that was exceptional as well. Mussels were not very fresh, but the situation was immediately dealt with very professionally so we were extremely pleased with service. It seems that the waters are trained very well and have authority and discretion to deal with issues very efficiently and professionally, which is great. Overall we were extremely pleased with taste, service, value. I recommended this place to a few friends already and am looking forward to our dinner beginning of August, when we are going to be visiting again for about a week or so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future diners. The Bento is new to our menu and the flavours are fabulous! We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two good meals there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

While staying at The Shaw Club & Spa, we enjoyed lunch at Zees as well as breakfast the next day. Lunch was good (cheeseburger with piemeal bacon) but a bit overcooked. The breakfast the next morning was excellent, especially the multi-grain toast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food with a bit of an Asian twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Food was fantastic. This is a perfect place to sit out in the summer, and watch passers by in NOTL. Highly recommend trying the charcuterie platter.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Awesome review, thank you! The charcuterie is such a great option, especially for sharing. I am so glad you were able to try it. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zees Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Zees Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zees Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.