We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zees Grill

Zees Grill
92 Picton Street | Shaw Club Hotel & Spa, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-5715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zees Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $13 - $43
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Contemporary, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Zees Grill at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is Niagara-on-the-Lake's newest hot spot, featuring classic nostalgic food updated with a whimsical twist. Across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and with the largest patio in Niagara, every detail of this exciting new restaurant will surely tickle your senses and tantalize your taste buds. Our award-winning chef has created an array of dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive. At Zees, fine dining meets fun dining.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited Niagara for a last minute get a way; based on trip advisor we chose Zees and Shaw club hotel. Wow what a great place! The restaurant is so awesome, they cater to every need. Peggy Jo, who we assume was the manager, was there every step of the way. The staff could not have been better. We were seated on the verandah, but also had the choice to sit inside. Chris the bartender was so funny and our server was very knowledgeable on the food and the area. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy W, Manager at Zees Grill, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It was a pleasure to have you dine with us and I am ecstatic you enjoyed your dinner. Our veranda is such a nice place to enjoy a meal and I agree Chris is pretty funny! It’s especially nice to hear you will be back. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    225
    96
    22
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining at it's finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We sat on their lovely veranda overlooking the garden and picturesque Niagara-on-the-Lake. Service was excellent and the food was very good. Menu features fresh, local itemsand was very flavorful. Would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Zee's is located in the Shaw Hotel.We love the veranda seating and always choose to sit outside.The service is very good.The menu/food is somewhat nouveau (unique), but very tasty. They to have local produce. I had the mussels, which were good and my husband had the sea scallops which were very good but 3 for $30 - a bit too pricey. It was our 35th anniversay so they treated us to 2 glasses of complimentary champagne, which was really nice. Overall it was a wonderfull dinner, and the ambiance is quaint. (ps: they heat the veranda if it's cold).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The menu promised to have a great selection of dishes for both my boyfriend, who is vegan and me (much less picky :)) After reading all the reviews and the great selection of vegetarian dishes this place had, this was a no-brainer for us. I ordered the tuna and it was ok, it didn't blow me away, my boyfriend had the toasted organic quinoa, which was very plain. Perhaps we went here with very high expectations after having read all the reviews, but the food simply failed us. It was way overpriced for what it was as well. You would think then that they might compensate with ambiance and service ... I'm usually not the one to comment on decor, but this place is in need of a make over. The decor was tribal to contemporary, a bit all over the place. The service wasn't the best either, it took forever for us to get our first drinks and the order ... the service then improved afterwards.
This place wasn't terrible, but our expectations were much higher and they were simply not met.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Enjoyed the shrimp tacos--flavourful and light accompanied by an unusual but perfectly balanced salad I would have appreciated more suggestions on a wine pairing. I have never sat on a heated patio before but appreciated the comfort on a chilly but sunny May morning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zees Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Zees Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zees Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.