We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the ruff - You will not leave hungry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basell's Restaurant & Tavern

Basell's Restaurant & Tavern
4880 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 4C5, Canada
(905) 356-7501
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 451 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A diamond in the ruff - You will not leave hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is not far from the tourist district. I eat here very regularly. If you like homestyle cooking in large portions, you'll love this place. They have two daily specials which include homemade soup/juice, meal, coffee/tea and ice cream cup, often for less than $12. Saturdays they have an awesome prime rib dinner. Go early for the best selection of cuts. They serve breakfast everyday, all-day, and again the portions are large. I love their homefries (HALF order!) with my breakfast. The only one drawback at this place is the fact they use lots of butter and oil in their cooking, so if you want a 'low-fat' meal or vegetarian meal, you may want to try somewhere else. They do have an amazing Greek salad (the restaurant is owned by a very nice Greek family), it is not on the menu, but just ask. Hope you like feta cheese, you will get a half-pound of it on your salad. Yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old school greasy spoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

No frills old school greasy spoon. Decor and atmosphere hasn't changed from the day it opened. Classic canadian diner food and friendly service. A niagara institution just far enough away from the crap on the strip.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A dated greasy spoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Well they give large amounts of food. I like the club house and fries that all I've ever had from here a few times while in Niagara. Chef doesn't like to put mayo on the sandwich ? Ah can I have mayo on my sandwich. Sorry u will get it on the side as the chef doesn't like putting it on? Ok maybe I won't be back here. Older looking place. Wait Staff are always friendly here

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Niagara Falls, Ont.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wow, good food, good service and felt like an old fashioned diner. My husband thought he was back downtown Toronto 50 years ago. He loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenleaf, w
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome forever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Anytime we are near Niagara Falls, Basell's is part of the day. Many years ago we stopped at a chain restaurant and asked the waiter where he would go for a good breakfast and he said Basell's. Pea meal bacon is the big hit along with Quebec pancakes. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basell's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Basell's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basell's Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.