We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basell's Restaurant & Tavern

Basell's Restaurant & Tavern
4880 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 4C5, Canada
(905) 356-7501
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 437 restaurants in Niagara Falls
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Take a short drive (1/2 mile or so) out of the main area in Niagra and eat breakfast here. This is by far the best breakfast and best value you will find. The prices are great and the portions are huge. My son and I had the Quebec Pancakes with the Canadian Bacon and we could not finish off the bacon. My wife and daughter had eggs, toast and regular bacon and portions were large as well. Many locals were dropping in to eat. The place is not touristy and overcrowded. It was a refreshing change from the other places we ate at while in Niagra. Has a very friendly owner and staff as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    15
    14
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Basell's decor might be a throw-back to the 70's but the food is great and well worth the money. Make sure you're hungry so you can finish your meal. Everything is "huge". I had the chicken finger special (9 pieces of chicken) and my husband had "The Capone". You have to ask for it because its not on the menu. Last time we were there our waitress said they had a huge sandwich called the capone so he had to try it. I swear it had 2 pork chops, 6 slices of cheese, real roast beef, bacon, ham and canadian bacon. Plus the usual lettuce and tomatoes. He ate the whole thing!! Our bill - under $25. You can't go wrong!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Huge Portions, Great Food and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have been going to this place for years. Not much has changed (including the decor), the prices are still low, the portions are huge and the staff friendly. Breakfast is served all day, and honestly, you couldn't possibly leave this place hungry. I'll admit they use lots of butter in their food, so if you are looking for a 'low cal' nouveau cuisine type place, this isn't it. Everyday, they have great "prix fixe" menu with soup, entree and dessert (ice cream). It is always a deal, and their soups are amazing. If you like Canadian (peameal) bacon, you'll get your fill here, large meaty portions. Their steaks are great, the steak & eggs are fabulous. The owners are a Greek family and some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. I no longer live in Niagara Falls, but I visit there at least twice every trip to the city, once for breakfast and once for lunch. BTW, they don't list it on the menu, but if you like Greek salad with at least a pound of amazing feta cheese, than ask the server, they are usually happy to make you one. You will definitely want to share this and if you have kids, seriously think about sharing, the portion are honestly huge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Big and delicious plates particularly breakfast. Order HALF sides of home fries and Canadian bacon. Each slice of Canadian bacon is a small pork chop. Come hungry!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Basell's Breakfast is Bangin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Had my first experience at Basell's this morning and it was well worth it. The waitress was very nice and chatted with us throughout the meal. Breakfast was terrific. We spilt a half order of homefries, which could've been a full order at another place.

The bacon was tasty and plentiful. Top it off with scrambled eggs and toast and we are not going to need to eat until much later today..lol

Whenever we come to Niagara, we will be having breakfast here. Great prices as well.....Looking forward to trying the fried chicken at dinner tonight.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basell's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Basell's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basell's Restaurant & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.