We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, prices, service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandstone Grillhouse

Sandstone Grillhouse
5467 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G3L3, Canada
+1 905-354-7225
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sandstone Grillhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 460 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving the Niagara Region for decades, Sandstone Grillhouse carries on a long family tradition of good food, friendly service, and a welcoming environment. Featuring Angus Reserve beef, succulent seafood, homemade italian, stellar appetizers, and more, Sandstone is the locals' choice for great food at a great value! Come enjoy; you'll be glad you did!
Hudson River Valley, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, prices, service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Good food, prices and service. Very friendly staff. Recommended by a local hotel. Would eat here again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    186
    67
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Satisfied Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Their soup was amazing, although the steak was a bit pricey. But overall, very satisfied with the service and food quality, highly recommended in this area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Best filet mignon ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We ordered the Chef's Table and a bottle of wine. We spent $125 total on wine and dinner, plus tip. However, it was the best filet mignon I've ever had... tender, juicy, just the right amount of salt and spice. I ate it slowly to savor every bite. Usually when I get broccoli at restaurants it's very dry and tasteless... the steamed veggies were steamed to perfection with a lot of flavor. Very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, food is ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went there based upon TripAdvisor's reviews. I ordered the spicy shrimp and sausage penne and my husband ordered the salmon special, mine was OK, his salmon was a little blend but cooked just right. The restaurant is at the very end of Victoria Ave, a bit far if you plan to walk but have free parking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Service, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Visiting Niagra Falls, and was my birthday, so decided to treat the family. The Sandstone had decent reviews, and decided to try. It was a good choice. The place was close enough to walk, as we were staying at Sheraton. The hostess was friendly, and our table was waiting. At first, thought the waitress was short on personality, and was rushing us, but she turned out to be fantastic. We started off with few appetizers, the calamari was just ok, definitely seemed frozen and not fresh. The bruschetta was very good, the tomatoes seemed fresh, and overall has a great taste. I had two younger kids who wanted steak, but none on kids menu. The waitress was very accommodating, and allowed us to split a steak between the two, and also a salad. She never felt like we were asking for too much, in fact made recommendations how to make this better. I had a the beet salad, and it was very good, great dressing, lite and tasteful. My wife had the Greek salad, and was just ok. Way too much dressing, and a bit too sweet. Steaks arrived and had assortment of filet, ribeye and New York strip. All the steak were perfectly cooked, and had a good taste. These are not as good as Morton’s and Shula, but still a good steak and reasonably priced. Dessert was also tasty. I would have gave five stars, but the appetizers and salads were not deserving, although would highly recommend visiting. The place os quaint, and service was very good, and food is good and reasonably priced for a higher-end steak house.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandstone Grillhouse also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Sandstone Grillhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandstone Grillhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.