We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, good food but too expansive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Watermark

The Watermark
6361 Fallsview Blvd., Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V9, Canada
905-353-7138
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Watermark is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 437 restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Murray Street
Description: As the signature restaurant at the Hilton Hotel and Suites Niagara Falls/Fallsview, The Watermark elevates guests' dining experiences to new heights with gracious service, inventive cuisine, an extensive wine collection and stylish design that is only surpassed by the stunning floor-to-ceiling views of both the American and Horseshoe Falls. Executive Chef Tim O'Donnell and his team expertly prepare fresh farm-to-table continental cuisine. The refined menu includes everything from fresh PEI mussels to succulent Ontario Lamb. Each dish is dressed with sides of fresh local produce.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good view, good food but too expansive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The foie gras was great, sea food ok. Desert ok too. Service was fine. The view and deco are breathtaking. But!... It is realy expansive. For 2, with 2 ordinary glass of wine (not bottle), one of beer, starter and desert: 320$ Ok we took the sea food but I never pay so high for a meal without at least a bottle of wine. If you have the money, go for it but if not, think twice...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    116
    103
    72
    43
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reeds Spring, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great 25th Anniversary Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant has a great view of the Falls. The atmosphere is very "cool"-blue goblets for your water, with an ocean type theme. The menu was a bit of a disappointment-we hoped for more variety for such a talked up restaurant. I enjoyed a filet while my husband ordered NY strip. His was overcooked, mine was perfect. The fixings were wonderful and very filling. They gave us a trainer and a trainee for the night-kind of disappointing as we let them know that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Service was a bit poor for a nice restaurant. I never had my glass refilled all night. I had to drink my husbands water. We enjoy nice restaurants and were a bit disappointed in this one.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little pricy and food was just average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Not rushed and had a good view of the Falls, but I can't even remember what we had to eat, not impressed, not terribly disappointed, I just know it was expensive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Run from this restaurant. The view is incredible view but the food is absolutely terrible restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I read all the disappointing TripAdvisor reviews on this restaurant in advance, yet still booked for dinner because it was part of my Hilton Groupon package. While the view is spectacular, save your money and get your view at the Skylon Tower. Even the spinach salad ($12) wasn't fresh and the mushrooms old and slimy. This restaurant could be a tourist goldmine, but clearly the manager hasn't eaten there and is out of touch with what goes on in the kitchen. My advice: GET RID OF THE CHEF, because he obviously can't cook. Plus the dinner prices are ridiculously expensive. I would recommend having a pre-dinner cocktail at the Hilton Hotel and Suites Bar on the street level (and eat somewhere else). You can snag a table on the open-air patio and have fun people watching. Plus there is great live music in the evening.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic views of the Niagara falls! Comfortable sitting and beautiful decor.
Average food , good wine list . You would not mind the slow friendly service you want to stay there forever and admire nature.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermark also viewed

 

Been to The Watermark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watermark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.