We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!! Real Japanese food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taki

Taki
5500 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
905-357-7274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 451 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Cambridge, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow!!!! Real Japanese food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is amazing! I lived in Japan for 10 years, and I was amazed at how diverse the menu is! Of course, there is the typical fusion for for the Groupon menus, but if you go a la carte, there is food you do not normally find in "Canadian" Japanese restaurants! Of course, you have to know what you are ordering, which is perhaps why others have been disappointed. For anyone who misses REAL Japanese food, make the trip!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here for a business dinner and sat at the sushi bar. Excellent sushi with a very informative sushi chef that engaged in just enough banter to make good recomendations. I love sushi but don't consider myself an "expert" by any means, but this place was one of the best I've ever been to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Does being Japanese make your sushi taste better?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, I was absolutely let down by this restaurant though it was rated in the top ten on trip advisor. I eat a lot at restaurants, especially sushi, and I don't mind whatever I pay but that I get quality food or at least adequaty good tasting food. . The sushi here was nothing special whatsoever, the garden salad though simple tasted aweful. I ordered a teriyaki salmon that was salted enough to hide the fact it was not fresh and poorly cooked. The sushi was not fresh neither old but was something that I would buy from a supermarket. . After I was done I did not even bother for dessert, in fact I did not even bother taking half of the food that was left home as it was not even worth eating "fresh". I paid $60 for dinner for 2 and I had to be honest and told them that the food was not good at all and as I was from Hamilton and also eat at restaurants in Mississauga and Toronto I said for the owner to try some of the more exceptional sushi restaurants such as Spring Sushi and Kampai in Hamilton, Sakkai in Burlington, etc. But that the waitress insisted that they were a Sushi restaurant with Japanese owners as if that justified how horrible their food and service was though they had the same typical menu as any other common sushi restaurant in Canada! If this is the best rated sushi in Niagara then don't bother eating sushi at all! Instead just go for some good Italian at either Bravo or Antica. The only reason restaurants like these survive is because of the tourists that come and eat only once and never come back ~

In the event you are able to visit other cities, here are some of the best places to eat in and out of Niagara Falls:

Best Sushi:
Spring Sushi (All You Can Eat) - Hamilton
Kampai - Hamilton
Sakkai - Burlington

Best Indian:
Avani - Mississauga

Best Lebanese:
La Luna - Hamilton
Paramount Fine Foods - Toronto/Mississauga/London

Best Chicken:
Nandos - Mississauga

Best Italian:
Bravo (Niagara Falls)
Antica (Niagara Falls)

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The sushi was very fresh, wehad the susho boat; the salmon and tuna were amazing!! meltedin your mouth; glad we came here!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in Niagara Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our prefered restaurant in Niagara Falls and we go there every time we are in town. It is located on the second floor of an older building not far from the downtown area. The food is excellent and the service is very good. We like the atmosphere and enjoy every visit. We would highly recommend Taki.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taki also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Taki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.